Customer testimonials, Caribbean yacht charter reviews

Below is a sample of the crewed charter yacht reviews that Sailing Directions receives from customers on a regular basis:

Catamaran Miss Kirsty

I just wanted to drop you a note to thank you for your help booking our trip. Ryan and Leslie are great! They catered to what we wanted to do. I could go on and on. Anastasia is better than ever.

Priscilla F, aboard Catamaran Anastasia, July 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Nim and Fabiola were a joy and perfect for our family. Nim answered all of our million questions about boat and the sea while making sure everyone was safe. Fabiola was warm and accommodating every minute of the day.

Luna was immaculate. Nim ran the a/c for us in the afternoons and evenings making for a very comfortable stay. Loved the water maker, loved the coffee machine, and the kids loved the bean bags on the trampolines.

The food was fantastic and beautifully prepared. Fabiola took all of our preferences into account and nailed our favorites. Very impressive what she is able to prepare on a boat.

I believe I requested a fairly ambitious itinerary and we covered it all. One of our favorite spots was stopping in St John our first night. The anchorage was great and the snorkeling at Watermelon cay was spectacular.

Shaun F, aboard Catamaran Luna, July 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Captain Brian was unbelievable. His knowledge of the area and boat made the experience tremendous. He interacted greatly with the family (especially the kids).

Chef Hannah was a stand in for Alex and she prepared amazing meals and was a great hostess. Food was unbelievable and always within the preference sheet.

Our only wish was that the charter was longer to be able to go to Anegada.

Au Soleil was A+. Our favorite spot was the front layout areas and the fly bridge.

John H, aboard Catamaran Au Soleil, June 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

A huge thank you for your assistance in booking this past week's charter vacation aboard the Xenia74.

We were four couples in celebrating important wedding anniversaries and wanted the best. The Xenia74 boat, accommodations, crew, meal service and sailing experiences exceeded all expectations as we sailed among the British Virgin Islands.

The Xenia74 has a magnificent master bedroom and three other bedrooms all with top notch out fittings and superb air conditioning.

Captain Tony with 20 years of experience provided smooth sailing and excellent access to snorkeling, scuba and beach combing.

Chef Kate in our unanimous opinion is the BEST in the Caribbean. From elegant omelets and freshly made croissants in the morning to wonderful salads for lunch and perfectly cooked to our preferences fish, chicken, lamb chops and steak at dinner we were blown away by her preparations. Did we mention the fluffy pancakes, the decedent French Toast or what she does with balsamic glacé? Desserts were also superb. Her chocolate raspberry cake has to be the best in the Western Hemisphere.

We brought along a case of our favorite wines which were amply fill out by Xenia74’s inventory of American and French wines. There is an extensive variety and supply of various liquors on board too.

The yacht’s two additional crew members Katie and Nick provided superb support and added tremendously to our wonderful experience.

This was a marvelous once in a lifetime trip made perfect by this handsome boat and superb crew. Booking on any lesser boat would be a shame and missed opportunity for perfection.

We should have booked two weeks!

David B, aboard Catamaran Xenia 74, June 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

We had an amazing trip! Richard & Dominique were absolutely perfect. Richard helped us create an itinerary that was perfect for our family. Dominque was a sweetheart with our girls and an amazing chef. We enjoyed getting to know them.

Mojo was always clean. The beds were super comfortable. We loved the walk through at the front of the boat. We spent a lot of time on the trampoline and the sitting area up front.

Dominique adjusted portion sizes as needed for my growing teenagers and younger girls. Everything was absolutely delicious. We looked forward to each and every meal.

You website is wonderful and your quick replies to my initial questions was the main reason we went with Sailing Directions. This will not be our last charter. We will definitely be back and would recommend you to friends and family.

Sandi S, aboard Catamaran Mojo, June 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Our charter trip on Excess with Ben & Michelle was amazing. I don't think I could have made a better choice on a catamaran selection! The boat was spotless and well ventilated and air conditioned. From the moment we stepped on Excess to the time we left, Ben & Michelle were awesome.

We called Ben the "Indiana Jones" of the ocean! He was up for anything from taking us snorkeling, scuba diving, hiking and exploring to finding a beautiful, quiet cove to just kick back and relax, swim and read. My son caught live lobster on his dives with Ben and he prepared them fresh on the boat for us!

Michelle's cooking was exemplary. Fresh, beautifully presented and healthy!

Ben & Michelle are such easy going, fun and down to earth people which made it so easy for our family to settle right in and relax. They made it fun and adventurous for our 4 children ages 16-23.

Excess is a beautiful catamaran with a spacious master suite and plenty of room for our family of 6 to spread out and enjoy some alone time.

The quality family time that we experienced was the best part of our week. Hands down, our best family vacation ever with the most beautiful catamaran and the greatest crew in the Caribbean!

Toni H, aboard Catamaran Excess, June 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

We had such a wonderful time and talk about it every day. A week packed with so many family memories. We loved the Kelea and we especially LOVED Alli and Dan.

Alli and Dan were THE best. So warm and personable, it was hard to say good-bye at the end of the week. They were always asking how we were doing and so accommodating with a variety of different requests, we kept them VERY busy!

Aboard Kelea we never felt like we were on top of each other. There were places all 8 of us could sit and visit, the trampoline, pads on top and of course the dinner tables. But we could also go off and find quiet spots to read, pray and enjoy the beauty of the scenery if we wanted to.

The food was AMAZING! Alli blew us all away with how delicious her food was, the variety was perfect and the presentation so pretty that I and my son-in-law took pictures of all the meals!

Every spot we anchored has its own unique characteristic. Dan did a great job bringing us to beautiful diving spots. Rhett and I dove 2 days and the rest of our 4 boys and son-in-law dove all 5 days. It was a great mix of diving locations, the Baths to explore, calm bays to pull the water toys behind the dingy and fun beach bar stops.

It was a trip of a lifetime. What I loved about this sailing trip at this stage of our life is that it was SO RELAXING! We are spread throughout the country now so I loved being together everyday, all day, doing so many memorable things, sitting and gazing at the scenery during a sail, visiting, playing games, eating delicious food that I didn't have to shop for, cook or clean up after, water fun, island fun etc.

Rhett H, aboard Catamaran Kelea, June 2019  sailing the British Virgin Islands

We loved both Jeff and Caitlin, lovely couple, fun and very respectful. Jeff is very experienced and knowledgeable. Caitlin is an amazing chef, always smiling and an incredible person.

The boat was beautiful, very comfortable, very clean. Both Jeff and Caitlin kept things impeccably clean.

What can we say about the food. WOW. We are Italian and food is very important to us. Caitlin is an incredible chef. The presentation, the taste, different variety each day, absolutely delicious. And she makes everything from scratch!

We loved all the islands we went to, the water, snorkeling, kayaking, just wonderful.

It was an incredible vacation. Our week on the boat with Jeff and Caitlin is unforgettable. We thank them so much for great memories on the boat.

Lorenzo S, aboard Catamaran Port to Vino, May 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

We had a great week on Floatation Therapy! Andrew and Michaela are fantastic. Thanks for your help with this charter.

Andrew and Michaela were professional at all times, yet very engaging and fun. Michaela took the time to engage the young ladies on our trip and they really enjoyed interacting with her. Every meal was tasty and well presented. The food service was excellent and attentive.

Tarek B, aboard Catamaran Floatation Therapy, May 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Jamie and Thea were great, very friendly attentive and accommodating. Blossom was kept extremely clean. Enjoyed that there was a front and rear comfortable seating area which provided sun or shade, whichever you preferred.

Food was way above our expectations and very plentiful.

Itinerary fit our wants well. Lots of snorkeling and hiking, but a bit too much wind for paddle boarding. Kayaking was mostly exercise rather than sightseeing.

We had a great experience. We were worried about motion sickness but were pleasantly surprised. We enjoyed Anegada the most and would strongly recommend to others to go there. Baths were fantastic, allow time to explore. Caves a must also.

Bob L, aboard Catamaran Blossom, May 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

The trip we had on the Stop Work Order was the best vacation we have ever taken. We have been some amazing places but we were not ready for this trip to be over.

Ryan and Dani Querry were wonderful from the moment we stepped on the boat. We picked this boat because we felt we had a lot in common with them. They were from the countryside and had fished and hunted. Since they moved to the islands they have learned a lot about the history of the land and people. Telling us about each place we stayed or passed by. Ryan and Dani were always trying to make sure we had anything and everything we needed.

The Stop Work Order was very comfortable. My husband and I were the only two guests on the boat so we had plenty of room. Nothing was out of place at any time. The two places we spent the most time were up on the top deck going from one place to the next and being around the table to eat or play dominoes. These were our favorite places.

The food was delicious and beautifully presented. Dani knew it was our anniversary and also my husband’s birthday and she baked us a special cake. Another reason we picked this boat was partly because of the sample menu. It had a lot of things we knew we would like.

Our itinerary was perfectly suited to us. We wanted relaxing and we got it! We were not sure where we wanted to go but Ryan planned perfectly. We saw many different bays and beaches. We also took in the local favorite spots. Ryan and Dani planned a special surprise for us for our anniversary. We went on a trip on Anegada in a Moke to a couple of different beaches. I think they enjoyed it as much as we did! Since my husband and I were the only guests it gave them more flexibility to go and do.

I would definitely recommend this trip! We had so much fun and made some wonderful memories.

Terry W, aboard Catamaran Stop Work Order, May 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Colleen and Matt were extremely professional and friendly. They were a lot of fun too. They took great care of us but they also took a lot of pride in the yacht, which we appreciated. They had all kinds of information and stories about the areas we visited and made recommendations for excursions, restaurants, shopping and hikes.

Colleen was an excellent captain and always went out of her way to ensure we had the best mooring spots and avoided cruise ship crowds.

Matt was very accommodating with our group of advanced divers and had plenty of equipment on board for us to use.

They were always asking if we needed anything, and at the end of the trip they planned a little surprise party for our 20th anniversary and our friend's birthday, complete with decorations, which was really nice. One night they even hosted a movie night complete with popcorn.

Firefly was very clean, comfortable and well ventilated. We appreciated having a shower/head in each room. The rooms were a great size and the beds were comfortable. The colors were really bright and fun which was beautiful when we sailed and they had comfortable bean bags on the trampoline. We booked this yacht because of the SCUBA tanks on board. Many boats did not have that. We enjoyed the transparent kayak, the lily pad and the paddle boards too.

Yes. The food was plentiful and exceeded our expectations and the presentation was lovely. Each day we had a menu with a "mood of the day" theme. That was really fun. Matt went out of his way to make special accommodations for specific requests. He made his own ice cream and it was fantastic. The bar was also very well stocked with everything we requested and some additional items we did not request but were pleased we could try like the local flavored rums and a themed cocktail each day.

Our favorites were the natural attractions such as trails on St. John (Annaberg) and the Baths on Virgin Gorda and the tour to Hog Heaven for the views. The two wreck dives (Rhone and Kodiak Queen) were really fun as was the dive near Scrub Island (I think it was the Dogs) because we saw the most wildlife there.

Lori R, aboard Catamaran Firefly, May 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

We were extremely happy with the boat, the crew, the food – we had high expectations, they were fulfilled by a good margin.

Thomas L, aboard Catamaran Xenia 74, May 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

We found Alli and Dan to be amazing! They were extremely knowledgeable and very attentive.

Kelea was clean, comfortable and well ventilated. My favorite aspect of the yacht was the bean bag chairs. As a group our favorite spot was sitting up top during the sails.

The chef made and presented the most amazing dishes. She used our preference sheet as a guide. She took great pride in her work and every meal was delicious!

The itinerary was perfect and every place we sailed was well worth seeing.

Sailing Directions provided a great service. They made it simple and easy to navigate through the process. We have had many people ask about our trip so we keep recommending your company.

Kristie R, aboard Catamaran Kelea, May 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Julia and Jos were so amazing! Our vacation experience was greatly improved by their knowledge about the islands, attentiveness, and their friendly nature!

Hypnautic was awesome. We slept so well! It was perfect amount of space for the 4 of us to spread out, yet interact with each other at will. I couldn't pick a favorite aspect of the yacht, because it was all so perfect!

Julia was an amazing chef! She worked so hard to give us such beautiful and delicious meals! The meals were above and beyond our best expectations!

We loved the ability to customize our itinerary to our preference. Jos was so good to give us all the options available for the day and let us decide when/where we wanted to go!

Sailing Directions was super helpful! Great service and easy to use website and payment. No issues whatsoever.

Great Boat for 2 couples or a small family! The boat was beautiful and clean. The crew was absolutely amazing!

We definitely will use your company in the future. I have recommended your company to a coworker for a similar charter!

Cailey K, aboard Catamaran Hypnautic, May 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

This has definitely been the BEST vacation so far.

Captain Steven was the most attentive, genuine, sincere captain we could’ve asked for. He was very welcoming to us and always offered assistance in guiding our adventure while still letting us do exactly what we had envisioned. Steven opened up his ‘home’ to us and we are already looking forward to the next sailing vacation with him. Thank you Steven for all you have done to make this an epic, divine, glorious, adventurous holiday. We not only had the best vacation, but also gained a true friend!

SJ (Sarah Jane) was such a welcoming presence as well! The moment we stepped onboard, she had chilled champagne waiting for us, as well as a delicious appetizer. SJ was always providing endless knowledge about the surrounding area, islands...but also made ABSOLUTELY delicious meals! We also feel we gained a special friend with SJ, and can’t wait to hopefully sail with her in the future.

Overall, this vacation has been the perfect escape from our normally crazy busy lives, and one we cherish always!

Thank you Steven and SJ for welcoming us, enjoying wonderful meals and drinks with us, and hanging out is if we’ve known you forever.

Jenny S, aboard Catamaran Makin Memories, May 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

I would like to submit a 5 star review for our recent trip on the Exodus with Dylan and Nina Sue. Our trip exceeded every expectation. The yacht was immaculate and very spacious, especially for our group of eight (four couples). We felt like there was plenty of room to spread out as well as gather together for meals and cocktails. The cabins were very comfortable and I was surprised how well I slept from the first night.

While we spent most of our time on the decks, the salon was also spacious and comfortable and housed our group for a highly anticipated Game of Thrones viewing. I recommend ending the evenings out on the nets for star-gazing!

Dylan was an amazing Captain and trip guide. He got a sense for the type of vacation we were looking for and created an expert itinerary that suited all of our needs: swimming, snorkeling, Island life, paddle boarding, etc. (The water toys on Exodus are also top-notch!). We all felt like we had a perfect balance of sailing time and mooring time. Dylan clearly knows that area like the back of his hand and we enjoyed hearing him talk about the different Islands and coves as well as his experience sailing all over the world. He is an expert and we all just let him guide our trip knowing his recommendations were all going to be excellent.

Our meals on the ship were unbelievable, thanks to the amazing Nina-Sue! Every meal was delicious but also was made with the loveliest presentation! We kept wondering how she was able to whip up these incredible dishes for eight guests in the galley kitchen, but she did it with ease, grace and always the most welcoming, warm and positive attitude. She even baked a huge from-scratch chocolate/nutella cake for a birthday! She was always seeking ways to make us comfortable with drinks in hand! (Nina Sue also makes an expert cocktail). She was just so lovely to have with us.

While the ship was just beautiful, Dylan and Nina Sue really made our trip. I know our BVI holiday would not have been the same with any other crew. They felt like old friends after just a few hours aboard. I would recommend this yacht and crew for any sailing vacation. We will certainly seek out their boat if we make this trip again. Thank you! Rachel and Taadeh.

Jeff H, aboard Catamaran Exodus, May 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

We could not have asked for a better crew! They really surpassed our expectations. They were friendly, always in a good mood, very attentive to our needs. You can really tell Denis and Taylor are good, genuine people that love to take care of others and do so in the best possible way.

Blue Pepper was very comfortable! It had everything we needed. At first, we thought we were going to get on each other’s nerves because of proximity on the boat and being a family of 9 (6 adults and 3 kids). But the way it's built, with the different chilling areas, we did not feel that at all!

Taylor really made sure the boat was clean at ALL times, which is pretty impressive with the 3 kids running around and misplacing stuff the whole day (the adults too haha!). The boat was well ventilated, we had no issues with humidity at all. Favorite aspects of the yacht: the different areas for different occasions and weather (front of the boat while sailing, back when cooler / eating meals, roof in the morning when it's calm, having a coffee), the quality of materials (couches, wooding, appliances, etc.) and the spaciness of it all!

The food was amazing. Denise really put her heart into her cooking and you can taste it. For the most part, every food was prepared from scratch - something we did not think possible on a boat! The presentation was always impeccable, oftentimes adding a quirky touch for the kids, which they enjoyed. As for customization of the menu, Denise really did a good job at sensing what we liked to eat, in addition to dealing with multiple intolerances and special needs in our group (one has an allergy to yeast and black pepper, one is pescatarian, preference for healthy dishes, etc.). We cannot thank her enough for that!

The itinerary we did was perfect, in accordance with our preferences. We told the crew at the beginning of the trip what we liked to do (snorkeling, beach chilling, swimming, sailing) and they figured out what best itinerary to do. They chose well!

Booking with Sailing Directions was done simply and in a timely manner. It was booked last minute on our part and we appreciate all the arrangements that were made for our trip to go seamlessly.

Sophie

Claire S, aboard Catamaran Blue Pepper, April 2019  sailing the British Virgin Islands

Dan and Alli could not have been friendlier or more attentive. Very concerned with what we wanted the experience to be and very flexible with us when we changed our minds mid-stream.

Kelea was clean and comfortable with lots of space up top to enjoy the sailing.

Alli is truly an amazing cook. Felt like we were dining out at every meal. We had two pescatarians with us and Alli accommodated them at every meal.

Dan and Alli put together a great itinerary and accommodated our desire for additional activities like hiking seamlessly.

Sailing Directions was a pleasure to deal with, I appreciate all your help.

I can’t say enough about how welcoming Alli and Dan were and how much we enjoyed spending the week with them.

Jim J, aboard Catamaran Kelea, April 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

It is hard to put into words what a fantastic time we had and what a fantastic time that we had with Jamie and Thea on Blossom Catamaran. We wanted to do something different to celebrate our retirement after 37+ years of working and our time on the boat really hit a “grand slam”.

Jamie and Thea were a pleasure to sail with. Most importantly was their focus on operating the boat safely and very professionally. They did an excellent job spoiling us with our favorite foods, taking us to the best snorkeling spots, and suggesting activities that they thought we would enjoy. Jamie and Thea were always willing to adjust plans to meet our interests. Suggestions they made related to taxi drivers, restaurants, places to visit when we went ashore were all great. They were very comfortable to be with – easy to talk with and never made you feel like a request was unreasonable. I would choose to sail with Jamie and Thea again.

Blossom was spotless, exceptionally well maintained. We enjoyed having the windows open at night but knew the air conditioning was available if needed. Favorite aspect of yacht was sitting and watching the sunset from the table at back of boat.

Food was exceptional. Thea and Jamie had read our preferences and planned a menu based on our preferences – we felt very pampered. Amazing attention to detail in watching what we liked. Great variety and extremely well prepared – both in taste and presentation. We were with them for 2 weeks and got to try a great variety of meals – hard to pick a favorite as there were so many good ones.

Except for the first and last nights moored off St. John, we sailed within the BVI and primarily places that had good snorkeling, nature, or hiking – fit our interests well. We liked the variety of places. Jamie and Thea were great in getting us moorings that matched our interests. At Little Jost, we had prime area to watch Turtles. At Waterlemon Cay, we had best access to prime snorkeling area. At Cooper we were positioned to snorkel off the boat but still be able to take easy dingy ride to beach.

We really appreciated all the upfront information when we as “first timers” were trying to decide which boat and length of trip. Although we started due to finding Blossom Catamaran on internet, the other boat options that Sailing Directions provided as well as getting us connected with Jamie & Thea to talk about options helped us decide on best option for us. It was nice to have someone who was working to match our interests to boat & crew. We could always count on quick response. We felt very prepared for trip.

Jamie & Thea made the trip exceptional by their knowledge on sailing, great itinerary based on our interests, fabulous food, and just being fun to be with. As first timers celebrating a recent retirement, our trip convinced us that we need to repeat the experience. We had such a great time on charter that we are looking at options for friends to join us the next year.

Marilyn T, aboard Catamaran Blossom, April 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

We cannot say enough great things about our charter on Pelican. Our crew was outstanding, 5 stars! Lovely people, excellent at their job, great ease at making all of us comfortable and fed us beautiful, delicious, healthy meals that were beyond expectations.

The boat provided plenty of space where 9 of us could easily feel comfortable. Our rooms were cozy and we slept just fine after adjusting to being on water.

Our group utilized the paddle boards, kayaks, snorkeling gear and floating mats daily. Everyone also enjoyed having the front of the catamaran to lay out on and relax either early morning sunrises or afternoon sunsets.

On our last night our captain Ty set up the inside TV so we could all sit around and watch the first episode of season 8 of Game of Thrones.

All Day Fun for 7 Days. My daughter and I had a fabulous dive at The Rhone where we saw 5 reef sharks, two eels, a giant lobster, schools of colorful fish and a lionfish. While moored in Caneel Bay we saw several spotted rays and a nurse shark. The sea life in the Virgin Island is absolutely spectacular.

Kristen G, aboard Catamaran Pelican, April 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Ryan & Dani were great. I really appreciated their reaching about before the trip to ask questions about our fact sheet and help arrange transfers to/from our hotel and the boat. In our preference sheet we had indicated an interest in balanced interactions with the crew, and they delivered. We had just the right mix of alone time (I actually got through a book), quality time with our travelling companions and times to engage with Ryan and Dani. They were always attentive to our needs regarding food, drinks, activities, destinations, etc. Ryan put up with countless questions (many of them repeated as group members cycled through at different times) as we hung out on the flybridge while sailing. We played games together a couple of nights, Ryan gave us the guided tour to Anegada, the Baths, played darts with us on Cooper, took pictures of us at Willy T’s, chauffeured us on Anegada. It was one of the best vacations I’ve ever had, they really delivered.

Stop Work Order is well taken care of, clean, a lot of fun under sail, had everything we needed and everything indicated on your site. We spent no time inside except to sleep, but the décor was light/inviting, the beds were comfortable, the shower/head much better than expected, and the AC kept us comfortable at night. We got linen/towel changes, nicely folded towels, napkins etc. which was a nice touch. Topside, there is a lot to love. We were really pleased with the layout, it provided great space for our party of 6, gave you choices for sun/shade, alone or together. The flybridge was the crowd favorite, with the movable bolsters we could accommodate sunbathers laying, the readers sitting, and everyone able to talk with the captain.

The bow seating was really comfortable for the direct sun experience, and the aft couch saw quite a few naps. Given our itinerary there was little chance to sail the first day and half, low wind, short hops and Ryan said don’t worry we’ll be sailing the rest of the trip, and we did. The wind/seas were excellent and we all really enjoyed ourselves. None of us had been on such a new and equipped ship, so were amazed at the process for raising and lowering the sails – we were all willing to pull lines, but no help needed.

Don’t have enough superlatives for the gastro portion of the trip. Dani was great accommodating some diverse tastes and allergies and made incredible food every day. In the preference sheet we had indicated wanting to eat on island a night or two, after experiencing two days of her cooking we asked if Dani had enough provisions to bail on that plan and stick with eating on the boat, she did and we had a great meal every night. Dani did an incredible job of making a lot of gluten free things from scratch, making substitutes in every meal, exposing us to great new tastes and ideas to take home. While they had bought a bunch of snacks, I don’t think we touched any, the daily menu of breakfast, lunch, appetizer, dinner was always timed well and more than filling. Dani worked tirelessly to have everything prepared and ready on a nice schedule. We all fell in to the nice routine of leisurely mornings, breakfast, set sail, watersports return to boat appetizer, relax, drinks on deck, shower dinner. We know it took an incredible amount of thought and work on her part but it really made for such a relaxing and wonderful vacation for us.

We had been to the Virgin Islands several times before, but Ryan managed to show us some great new spots. He did a fine job tailoring to our preference sheet – mix of lively/beach bar like spots, daily watersports, balanced off with great moorings at night to enjoy the fantastic sunsets. We snorkeled every day, the certified divers enjoyed their three dives, the ladies did Discovery scuba and one joined the certified divers on their last dive (Diamond Cay – everyone’s favorite). Mooring at Guana island was picturesque, maybe five other boats, pelicans diving, and a great sunset next to JVD. We really enjoyed the sail to Anegada, getting sprayed as we rode the swells, seeing the whales breach, swimming with turtles and rays, watching the dolphins – we really got a chance to see and do all the things we wanted to.

Sailing Directions provided for a hassle-free experience. Using the site to search was easy, John provided timely follow-up to all our questions and helped guide us through the boat/crew selection process. Completing the charter contract and making the payments on schedule was straightforward using the site. The info pack Sailing Directions gave us on booking was really helpful in identifying hotels to stay at prior to embarking (Olga’s worked out great for us), finding insurance, helping to control the amount that people packed and the bags they used etc. I will recommend Sailing Directions to anyone looking for a charter.

Paul B, aboard Catamaran Stop Work Order, April 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Our experience was fabulous. Tyler and Kelsey fulfilled all our expectations, they were friendly, accommodating, knowledgeable and most of all, created just the right atmosphere for a wonderful vacation.

Playtime was in tip top shape, clean and spacious, just the right size for three couples.

The food was great, thanks to Tyler and Kelsey exceptional culinary skills. Every meal was tasteful, beautifully presented, and just the right amount.

As far as the itinerary, we told Tyler and Kelsey what we were interested in (mostly snorkeling, diving, sailing and just relaxing) and they guided us to right spots.

As far as Sailing Directions, your website was very informative and you were very responsive whenever I called or emailed with questions. I will not hesitate to call on you in the future to book any future sailing trips. I will recommend you to friends who are interested in sailing. All of us felt that we will have to get back.

I want to thank for a trip of a lifetime and we are all looking forward to work together on future charters.

Isam Z, aboard Catamaran Playtime, April 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

I wanted to thank you for playing your part and organizing our charter. It truly was a memorable experience. Probably one of the best vacations I have ever taken. Ryan and Leslie are superb. I cannot say enough about their hospitality, professionalism, ability to interact with both us and the kids. We are already looking at March of next year to book a second trip.

Frank V, aboard Catamaran Dolphin Daze, April 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

John and Shirelle have a particularly good chemistry together, which was nice to be around. Shirelle is so positive and was always checking in on us for drinks, snacks, etc. John was highly competent, did excellent scuba instruction for our party, totally flexible if we wanted to stay longer at a destination, as well.

The food was enjoyable and well-presented and Shirelle customized it a lot to suit our tastes. She tended to go with shared salads of different types for lunch and plated dinners in the evening. The mix of lighter and heavier fare was good. The grilled meats were particularly good (steak, lamb) as was the inventive use of spices and ingredients to keep everything fresh and new!

Captain John customized an itinerary that worked very well for us based on feedback the first evening. We had the perfect mix of water sports, beach time, land time, cruising and sailing.

William W, aboard Catamaran Serenity Now, April 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Our trip was amazing! Jason and Dana made it extra special and amazing! The whole trip they made us feel as though they adopted us for the week.

Jason and Dana kept the boat spotless. Every day our rooms and bathrooms we're cleaned and picked up. Our favorite aspect was they had multiple areas to lounge and be comfortable.

Dana was extremely attentive to our preferences. She took the time to understand each person's needs and accommodate them.

We saw a nice variety of sites and also had time to relax and enjoy the sites.

The website has a lot of information which really helped. We loved the information about preparing for your trip. The picture and bios of the crew was also very helpful.

I would definitely recommend both Sailing Directions and Island R&R.

Tammy S, aboard Catamaran Island R&R, March 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

The crew were amazing and made our stay on board very enjoyable. They accommodated all our requests and had a great plan every day.

The boat was great. We enjoyed hanging out on the bean bags and trampoline up front while sailing and also the outdoor dining table. The paddle boards, floats and wake board were also nice to have.

The food was incredible! What Joseph can do in that tiny kitchen is truly remarkable. It was a great culinary experience, and our kids enjoyed it too!

We had a great itinerary that was dictated somewhat by needing to fit in our 4 open water dives for SCUBA certification. And we knew some friends on a different boat and got to meet up with them a few times as well.

Sailing Directions is very easy to use and we were happy with the service and feel like you guided us to the perfect boat.

Andrew M, aboard Catamaran Dianna Rose, March 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

We all had the most incredible time.

We have nothing but praise for "Shawtumn". They're an amazing team - we always felt so well looked after. Autumn is an amazing cook. Always kept us on time so we didn't have to worry about anything. They read our group well and suggested excursions were always appreciated. I don't have any captains to compare Shawn to, but he seems to really know what he's doing and we all felt very safe. And added bonus - they're very fun to be around!

Pelican is very clean. A/C kept us comfortable at night. So many good places for lounging above deck.

The pre-cruise preference list was very helpful. The meals kept getting better and better. So impressive that Autumn can make that magic happen in such a small space.

Sailing Directions has great service, emails were always rapidly answered.

THANK YOU FOR THIS AMAZING EXPERIENCE!

Rosa M, aboard Catamaran Pelican, March 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

The crew were excellent. Everything on board was great. We particularly enjoyed all the branding with logos on everything, made it very professional. Food was spectacular and well presented. The menu was customized to our preferences.

David C, aboard Catamaran Hypnautic, March 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Matthias & Amber were were extremely accommodating and their local knowledge was invaluable in adding to the trip. It was nice to see St. John, where we spent the previous week on land, by sea.

Antillean was very comfortable, clean, and well ventilated. Ear plugs did help with the hum of the generator running during the night. Great cockpit layout with plenty of shade for those who desired it.

The food. Oh my gosh. My one wish if I ever become filthy rich is to have a chef. If I could have Amber on every vacation, life would be wonderful.

Timothy R, aboard Sailing Yacht Antillean, March 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Richard & Dominique were perfect hosts - extremely knowledgeable, attentive and accommodating.

Mojo was awesome. Richard & Dominique did an outstanding job of making sure the boat was clean, beds made, and AC was cranked up at night. Mojo was a perfect size for our family of 5 – enough room for everyone to find a nice place to relax, sun, or hang out.

Dominique (& Richard on the grill) did an amazing job for all of our meals. We thought it was incredible the way she could prepare such delicious meals in such a small space. The food was definitely one of the highlights of the trip.

Richard did a great job of coordinating some of the sights we wanted to see and making recommendations based on his experience. He took us on the “highlight reel” of the BVIs and timed our arrivals at each place impeccably.

John – thank you for answering all of my many questions and making sure that “our trip of a lifetime” was a trip of a lifetime, though we’re bound and determined to do it again.

We have recommended your service to others who have inquired about our trip, and will continue to do so.

Joseph R, aboard Catamaran Mojo, March 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Terry and Ruth were both amazing. They are delightfully friendly and good humored, exceptionally knowledgeable about all aspects of the charter experience, and very attentive to each guest. Ruth accommodated one couple’s special dietary needs superbly and without drawing attention to it.

The Big Dog was in excellent condition inside and out. The yacht was clean, neat, well-organized and very ship-shape. Very nice that the guest cabins are air conditioned. She sailed well and comfortably and is very well outfitted. We used the kayaks, paddle board and float numerous times.

Ruth is a master chef! Meal after meal she prepared and served outstanding cuisine, and Terry always found the perfect cocktails and wines to go with each. It was like going to a five star restaurant three times a day!

Great itinerary hitting all the destinations we sought. Terry is very knowledgeable about the islands, history, must-see sights and best anchorages, and he and Ruth have developed great contacts on each island for local transportation, shopping and restaurants.

Sailing Directions provided excellent and professional service and was easy to work with. The website was detailed, well organized and informative.

This charter far exceeded our high expectations. Terry and Ruth are outstanding professionals and we recommend them without reservation.

Eric S, aboard Catamaran The Big Dog, February 2019  sailing the British Virgin Islands

Thank you for providing us with a fabulous vacation!

Colin and Julianna were tremendous and truly the best. The meals were like a 5 star restaurant. I told Julianna I truly believe she could beat Bobby Flay! We had a vegetarian and one that didn’t like spicy. Everyone was perfectly accommodated. 5 Stars. Colin was amazing also. I feel we were blessed to have such a great crew!

The yacht was perfect and we loved it all. Everything was perfect from booking until the end of the voyage. I will highly recommend you to anyone considering a wonderful vacation.

Earl H, aboard Catamaran Tabula Rasa, February 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Crew: The crew consisting of Brand, Jayde and Degorey were unbelievable. they were friendly, knowledgeable, attentive, accommodating and more. They worked so hard to take care of all 10 of us and never once made us feel like it was a chore. Such an amazing group of young, smart, kind and adventurous people. We all really connected with them and it was very hard to say good bye.

Yacht: Seahome was so comfortable. We were at maximum capacity but it never felt crowded. We had a couple of ventilation issues but that was actually our fault and Brand took care of it easily. We had no idea our beds were going to be made for us and our bathrooms cleaned daily! What a pleasant surprise! I would say that our favorite aspect of the yacht was that there was a spot for everyone. It is funny how we all sort of gravitated to the space we needed. I loved the cushioned sunny area up top the best. The perfect spot to catch some rays during the day and to stargaze at night. The guys in our group love to play cards so the large table in the back of the boat was perfect for that. Two of our guys hung out frequently on the small seats on either side of the boat way up front.

Food: AMAZING! My only complaint is that Jayde makes me look sooooo bad! What she comes up with out of that tiny kitchen is nothing short of magic. We took pictures of every meal. The presentation and better yet, the taste was so awesome. We told Jayde she should write a cookbook. Jayde effortlessly accommodated our one group member that does not like seafood.

Itinerary: We elected to have captain Brand choose our itinerary based on our preference sheet and the weather. It was perfect!

Sailing Directions: You have been really great to work with. I think the number one thing is communication and you were always so willing to answer all questions and within hours, not days! I hope that we have the opportunity to sail the BVI's again soon. I've decided I would like this to be my happy 60th trip in 2022 so we will be in touch for that, if not sooner. I would do this trip every year!

A friend asked, "how would you rate your trip on a scale of 1-10?" My answer was "20!" It truly did exceed all of our expectations. Thanks Sailing Directions!!!

Tammie K, aboard Catamaran Seahome, February 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

The trip far exceeded all our expectations. It went very smoothly from planning to completion. The website is very useful and user friendly.

The boat is very spacious with plenty of areas for alone time if desired.

The crew were excellent. The food was outstanding. Unbelievable that food of that quality and variety can be cooked on a boat. We all had a great time.

Sean B, aboard Catamaran Bagheera, February 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

We had many choices of charter yachts to pick from and we feel we could not have made a better choice! From the moment we boarded, we felt welcome and the vibe was completely different from other charters we have been on. The yacht was spotless and welcome cocktails and snacks were awaiting.

The vessel was very comfortable, clean and obviously well maintained. The master cabin was huge! More than enough room with lots of storage. A water maker onboard is a big plus. There was plenty of ice for cold drinks and both crew were great bartenders!

Captain Taylor and Chef Margaret were both very professional. We noticed they both helped each other with daily duty’s and were always attentive to our needs, always putting us first!

Taylor was cautious when necessary and showed great seamanship. He gave me pointers on honing sailing techniques and mooring procedures. While diving, he was a great dive master, always being cautious and took us to new dive sites we never heard of before!

Margaret’s cuisine is amazing and always left us more than satisfied. Both went out of their way to accommodate us, with Margaret even taking us ashore on special tours of places we had not seen on other trips.

Overall, our experience was excellent, starting with timely correspondence with Sailing Directions, the yacht and crew. Taylor even arranged a driver to be waiting for us at the airport! When we return, we will look for the crew of the White House for our next adventure.

Sailing Directions is a well run company and I have already recommended them to a couple friends who are interested in chartering in the future.

Once again thank you for the attentive way you handled our trip. You made it very easy! We will be back!

Shawn R, aboard Catamaran Better Days, February 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

The crew, Taylor and Denise were friendly, knowledgeable, attentive and accommodating during the trip.

Yacht Blue Pepper was very comfortable, clean and well ventilated, I really liked layout of the cabins and their comfort.

Food was great! The chef customized the menu to our preferences 100%!

Everybody loved the itinerary of the area that we sailed.

Hope to be back next year and sail with the same great CREW aboard Blue Pepper.

Jack C, aboard Catamaran Blue Pepper, February 2019  sailing the British Virgin Islands

We departed our amazing charter today at noon. Port to Vino is a beautiful catamaran, well maintained and well equipped. The layout was perfect for our group of 4 couples. Could not have recommended a better fit for our group.

Jeff and Caitlin did a wonderful job managing our charter, cooking for us and entertaining us, kicking off each afternoon with Jeff specialty cocktails and finishing up with wines and desserts. They are an amazing team making the service for 8 individuals look easy and providing transitions flawlessly throughout our days. Both have so much to share of their marine knowledge and were so inclusive in helping us shape our charter route.

We had a stellar vacation week aboard Port to Vino. Thank you so much for your expertise in matching our needs and desires to such a beautiful boat and such an outstanding and accommodating crew. We would recommend your services, Caitlin and Jeff and Port to Vino with our highest regards.

Katrinia Y, aboard Catamaran Port to Vino, February 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Dylan and Isabella were amazing. Slivochka was very clean and comfortable. Our favorite spot was probably the fly deck. Amazing views and a wonderful opportunity to visit with Dylan and learn about the Islands.

I can’t even tell you how wonderful the food was. It was so good my children wanted to take Bella home with us. We are still talking about how good the food was.

The itinerary was great. The crew really accommodated our wishes for beaches with as few people as we could get. We had some amazing anchorages.

Katy S, aboard Catamaran Slivochka, February 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

The crew, Pete & Jade, were wonderful. They worked round the clock to learn and then satisfy all our wishes. They were knowledgeable and communicative, and we all became fond of them personally.

The yacht was tip top and beautiful. It had every accommodation and extra toys we could think of, and the crew presented it all with eager aplomb.

Jade is an exceptional and imaginative chef. Pete was the sommelier without limits. Jade's meals incorporated many local ingredients which she procured along the way, and her meals were varied to include all our diverse preferences. Their presentation was also exceptional to the point that the folks interested in culinary exploits photographed most of them.

There was good variety in the stops, though as expected, most were fairly natural and undeveloped except St. Vincent and Granada. Mayreau was very much fun to explore and swim at. Tobago Cayes were also a highlight.

John, you were most helpful and responsive. Thank you for arranging a most wonderful trip so smoothly.

Peter M, aboard Catamaran Xenia 50, January 2019  sailing the Caribbean Grenadines

From the beginning, Ryan & Dani were friendly and accommodating via email. From the moment we stepped on the boat, we felt welcomed and encouraged to feel at home. We couldn't believe how our wish list was coming to life. Dani and Ryan were friendly and approachable, and soon part of our group.

Stop Work Ord was very clean, and so comfortable. My husband loves his AC and appreciated that Dani and Ryan closed up the rooms every afternoon and cooled them down. I was surprised at how "open" the rooms felt. And not just because we had the master. The large windows and the light from the sky lights didn't make you feel claustrophobic. The bedding and towels were nice and plentiful. I think we were all happy with the amount of room to spread out. Even 8 of us could find plenty of space.

The food was incredible. We all agreed that we didn't expect it to be so gourmet and beautifully presented. We felt so spoiled. And full.

For most it was their first time to the VI, much less the BVI, and for all of us it was the deepest we had been. What's not to like? Dani and Ryan took us to quiet beaches, party beaches, snorkeling, long stretches of sailing. Our favorite things were probably our "tour" over Virgin Gorda, and our day at Jost Van Dyke. Because of the weather, and Dani and Ryan's attention to safety, we spent our last night in a bay at St John. Our "sunset cruise" over after our day at the beach was probably our most photogenic evening of the trip.

Working with Sailing Directions was easy and quick. We didn't know what we were doing, but, never got confused or behind. The information once we booked was easy. The website was great.

Stacy C, aboard Catamaran Stop Work Order, January 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Jason and Dana were great! Very friendly and accommodating, they made us feel immediately at ease.

Island R&R was comfortable and clean. Dana did an amazing job with the meals, we felt very full and we were given perfectly prepared selections.

Our itinerary was a perfect mix of solitude and other people. I loved being on the beach and the rest of the group liked the snorkeling so it was a good mix. Cooper's Island and seeing the Super Blood Moon Eclipse was a highlight!

Anne Marie R, aboard Catamaran Island R&R, January 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Jason and Dana were great! Very friendly and accommodating, they made us feel immediately at ease.

Island R&R was comfortable and clean. The AC on the starboard side was not working as well as the other side of the boat but Jason did all he could to get it cool enough. There was a few spots of wear and tear on the boat, but Dana and Jason kept it extremely clean and organized and the sheets and bedding were great.

Dana did an amazing job with the meals, we felt very full and we were given perfectly prepared selections!

Our itinerary was a perfect mix of solitude and other people. I loved being on the beach and the rest of the group liked the snorkeling so it was a good mix. Cooper Island and seeing the Super Blood Moon Eclipse was a highlight!

Anne Marie R, aboard Catamaran Island R&R, January 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Our week was spectacular! Taylor and Margaret were terrific and it felt like we were hanging out with family. They are personable, attentive and knowledgeable.

The White House is immaculate. Taylor is crazy organized and always picking up behind us and keeping things organized. I had the master suite and felt guilty with the amount of space I had. The other 2 cabins were great and the kids loved them.

Margaret’s food was delicious and always presented beautifully! She is a very healthy cook and we enjoyed that. She never let us go hungry or thirsty

We developed the itinerary as we went to accommodate everyone’s wants. So it was great.

Everyone would love to sail again with Taylor and Margaret. My kids hit it off great with them and they spent a couple of late nights playing games and talking. I would recommend sailing with them to everyone. We could not have been more pleased. Hope we can do it again soon!

Frances M, aboard Catamaran Better Days, January 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

The cruise aboard Lady J was great. The kids and grandkids loved the trip and the crew, and I think the crew loved the kids. Happy New Year!

Heather H, aboard Power Yacht Lady J, January 2019  sailing the Bahamas

Simply amazing! Both Rich and Lisa provided outstanding service. They were both very knowledgeable and very accommodating. We couldn't have asked for a better crew!

The Luar was very comfortable and immaculate. Lisa was always cleaning! I loved the sundeck up top to watch the stars!

Oh my gosh, the food was amazing! Rich and Lisa accommodated teenagers and my allergies. My teens came home raving about the food.

Rich was super smart and with it being New Year's week - he reversed the itinerary after hearing me comment I'd prefer not to be with lots of boats. On average we moored with 2 other boats - perfect!

The crew makes a boat / week.

Mary Ann S, aboard Catamaran Luar, January 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Leon, Wendy & Lisa were very were they friendly and accommodating. Sail Away was roomy and clean. Wonderful crew and cruise.

Stephen Z, aboard Catamaran Sail Away, January 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

The crew were phenomenal! We listed some “want to see” locations but we trusted them to know the area and take us to special spots and they did just that!

The food was gourmet level at many meals and beautifully presented. We especially loved the shaded lounge area at the stern.

Barbara H, aboard Catamaran Free Ingwe, December 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

I write this on our final day aboard and we are slightly saddened because we are leaving two new family members, Eddie and Danielle. They are much more than captain & chef/mate. They treated us and our grandkids with great care and, oh boy did we have fun. Prepare for an adventure, where every “little thing” is done for you. Eddie and Danielle you are the best, thank you.

Tom F, aboard Power Yacht Cat Cay, December 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Jamie & Thea were wonderful hosts, and complement each other very well. Jamie was always gracious in accommodating our requests for water sports, or for being dropped or picked up ashore, for example. And he was very open to chalking out and changing itineraries as desired. Thea was cheerful and very friendly. They gave us the space we needed, yet were there whenever we needed them. By the end of it, they felt like family.

Blossom was very well maintained, and quite spotless. We each found our favorite spots whether it was lying on the front trampoline gazing at the starry night sky, or sitting in the front seats with the wind in our face, or lounging in the rear dining area. Blossom is perfect for a family of 4. The main bedroom suite has a fairly long hallway with closets and drawers, so there was enough room to park our stuff. Definitely advisable to just carry duffel bags, though - leave your large wheeled suitcases at home.

This was our first yacht charter, so we didn't quite know what to expect, food-wise. Turns out we were in for a very pleasant surprise. Thea is a superb cook, and we had great variety day after day, starting with the shrimp salad the day we first boarded, which was so welcome after our flight in that morning. It is amazing that so much variety was presented, given they had to stock up for the entire week. Thea was very willing to customize the food to our tastes. And to top it all, the food was very elegantly presented each day, whether it was breakfast, lunch or dinner. Proper silverware, cloth napkins, candles, decorations on the table, and the plating was done with care.

The itinerary was great. Jamie & Thea showed us some key highlights of the British and US Virgin Islands. We saw great snorkeling spots, some caves, nice hiking trails. Some islands were more populated (like St. Thomas), or had a night scene (like Jost Van Dyke), whereas others were absolutely pristine (like Leinster Bay in St John). So we felt we got a real good mix of scenes. Also, the seas were never rough, so we got a fairly calm sailing throughout.

Since we were booking this blind, all online, without ever having met anyone at Sailing Directions, we were a bit concerned however, the people at Sailing Directions, specifically John Lane, proved to be very professional. Every aspect was fairly described in the website. We tried doing a yacht charter the previous year, but unfortunately our boat ended up getting damaged in the wake of the 2 hurricanes that hit that year. Sailing Directions promptly refunded all our deposit, without us even asking for it.

Will definitely recommend Sailing Directions to friends.

Nikhil G, aboard Catamaran Blossom, December 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

You ALL went out of your way to make our trip an experience of a lifetime. Catering not only to each person’s culinary desires but giving us the FULL experience. Everyone had every idiosyncratic whim fulfilled. How you made 10 very different people ALL feel like they were super special and gave each one a VIP experience was the best I’ve seen of the crews we’ve sailed with.

Eric L, aboard Catamaran Seahome, December 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Thank you so much for a great week. We have loved every moment, the week went by much too quickly. All of the food was so yummy and such a treat to not cook for a week :)

Ryan and Jill were fantastic - super friendly and easy to be with - very knowledgeable both from a sailing point (we were very confident in Ryan (and Jill’s) ability to “drive” the boat - they totally knew what they were doing - and also knowledgeable in great areas to snorkel and anchor for the day/night. Accommodating? - Yep! They pretty much asked us what we wanted to do and made it happen each day!

Oui Cherie is a great boat! We were a little worried as our last boat was slightly larger so we were afraid we wouldn’t be “wowed” by this one but that was not the case at all. Because it’s a new boat everything was super clean and new and nice. Favorite part of boat was either the front cushioned area or the flybridge - that really added a lot of extra space to spread out.

What’s not to love about the BVI’s?! Beautiful area and nice warm weather. It has been a great week! Thank you.

Allison G, aboard Catamaran Oui Cherie, December 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

You have our undying thanks for recommending Breanker as we had an absolutely wonderful time. Best. Vacation. Ever. As the kids would say. Marianne and Kristian were perfect hosts, the vessel was immaculate, the food was gourmet quality. Even the weather was perfect, although you probably can’t claim credit for that. The BVIs were gorgeous and welcoming. We would definitely consider another trip, although we are not the sort of people who can afford to do things like this regularly. Sincerely,

Mary S, aboard Catamaran Breanker, December 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

I can say it was the best vacation ever. Taylor and Margaret were awesome. Wise beyond their years. Would give them a 10 on everything professional and mature. I would also give them a 10 on food which was wonderful!
Thanks best v ca ever.

Cathy H, aboard Catamaran Better Days, December 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

The crew were FANTASTIC! They were friendly, knowledgeable, attentive, accommodating and more.

The food was amazing. 5 stars for the food and presentation.

Kathy B, aboard Catamaran Dianna Rose, December 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Vacation of a Lifetime. After a busy month at work at our restaurant I decided to make my wife Linda’s dream come true. We have been happily married for over 35 years, made a good life and enjoying our late adulthood. Linda and I have always wanted to sail/cruise on a sailing ship. I am against the large cruise ship experience, don’t like the idea of small cabins, limited privacy and having to cue up with my fellow passengers to eat and or participate in events.

After many hours of research, I realized that chartering our own catamaran could be what floats our boat. Since we were a little late in the average booking process, less than 4 weeks before I departure I was worried I might have difficulties finding my charter. Luckily I found www.sailingdirections.com. The site is easy to navigate, has all the information you need to make a decision.

Linda was jumping for joy when I pulled up the website and showed her what we could be doing in a couple of weeks. We spend about an hour looking at different boats and crews that were available during our time. We settled on the Hypnautic, a 6 passenger catamaran for 6 nights and send out email off sailing to sailing directions. John Lane and his team responded within an hour and informed us of the process. 24 hours later we put our deposit down.

We were three weeks away from departure when we got our first email about selecting our preferences, itinerary, food choices even which kind of alcoholic beverage we preferred.

Julia and Jos send us pictures/information of locations we might be interested in visiting and arranged for our transportation from the airport to the ship’s dock.

December 10th arrived, and we were on our way. Flight was delayed by 3 hours, no problem our taxi was waiting for us. Jos greeted us on the dock and our adventure begun by climbing into a dinghy and boating to the Hypnautic. LOL I was so excited I did not take any pictures.

We were welcomed on the Hypnautic with a welcome beverage and given the tour of our home for the next week. Linda and I were so thrilled, the sounds of the harbor, the smells, the comforts. Jos, our captain and Jules our Mate explained what we should be expecting. They made us feel very comfortable with their knowledge of the area, seamanship and hospitality.

Linda and I had a catamaran to ourselves while surrounded by the BVI’s. Next morning we got to see all the splendor of St Thomas Red Hook Marina while eating a scrumptious breakfast. It became very clear Jos and Julia goal was to exceed our expectations. They always added little details to every action they could to make our trip more enjoyable. I don’t want to give the details away because it would ruin the trip for their next guests. It’s like giving away the story line of a movie plot. Our first snorkeling excursion, I noticed that Jos was observing us to make sure we were proficient as we indicated.

Each day we were cruising and exploring private beaches, visiting beach bars and small villages. We could not stop grinning and pinching ourselves, at night time the sunsets took our breaths away, saw dolphins and turtles, snorkeled caves and reefs, sunned on a sand spit, climbed a mountain, explored the Baths, drank too many rum punches, floated, watched barracuda under the lights, listened to good music, watched a movie, sailed with the wind, waved and danced, slept to light rocking motion in coves, met some fellow travelers as well as locals. Mostly it was peaceful and restful.

We did not have to decide what to do, we let the wind and weather make those decisions for us. I should not forget Jules’s cooking skills, as a restaurant owner and chef I am in awe of her skills with a small oven and a couple of gas burners. Her Cornish Hen is top notch. Our meals were on point and we looked forward to the view from our deck and enjoying her creations.

So here are my reasons why you should book the Hypnautic and experience Jos’s and Jules’ hospitality. I am hoping I get to go on another adventure with them.

1. British Virgin Islands - so many islands to visit in such close proximity

2. Hypnautic a catamaran with awesome features

3. The Crew. Jos and Jules people who strive to exceed your expectations

4. Snorkeling, paddle boarding, floating, swimming, beaching, caving, and exploring

5. Sleeping, napping, relaxing, and enjoying

6. Eating great food, drinking, and snacking

7. The views are always changing

8. Sailing, learning about the islands, cruising,

9. Being relaxed, forgetting all worries.

10. Being thankful that you can have experiences like this

The night I sat with my wife on the sugar deck watching the starts, the barracuda in the blue lit water and our favorite music playing in the background has become my Happy Place.

Thank you John, Jules and Jos for making our dreams a reality and creating some of best moments and feelings in our lives.

Theo H, aboard Catamaran Hypnautic, December 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Dana and Jason were amazing. Dana was amazing her food is the one thing we all missed and talked about when we got home. She always had a great presentation of the food and to was delicious. Jason was fun and always accommodated us in anything we wanted to do. When we come back there is no one else I would want but them to charter us. They went above and beyond.

Island R&R was so nice everything was clean and every morning we woke up and it looked brand new again.

I loved everything we did! We even asked if we could change things up one day and stay longer in Anegada and Jason said sure and rearranged things for us. They never said no to any request and were very accommodating to all our needs.

We loved everything! We will be doing this again!

Jamie G, aboard Catamaran Island R&R, December 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Tyler & Kelsey were awesome.

Re Playtime: We loved it all. Like the convenience of having an icemaker and water maker. We enjoyed the upper deck lounge area as well.

The food was wonderful, tasty, and customized to dietary preferences. It was always beautifully presented.

We enjoyed everywhere we went. Kelsey was like our personal tour guide offering stories, fun, historic & scientific facts.

Thank you!

Jamie H, aboard Catamaran Playtime, July 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

We had a most wonderful vacation with Andrea and Morgan.

Captain Andrea revealed beautiful snorkeling locations to us and showed us the joys of sailing in the BVI.

Morgan was delightful. She provided lovely meals catering to everyone's tastes - sometimes cooking up to three varieties of a meal at a time. Not only was she a wonderful cook, but she was a great role model for the teenage girls on the trip - she was interesting, caring and accomplished.

Captain Andrea struck the perfect balance - engaging with us and giving us space all on the same trip. We can't wait to charter another trip. It's been a long time since we were so very relaxed. Our trip on Nemo accomplished maximum relaxation!

Thank you for everything. Please extend our tremendous thanks to Captain Andrea and Morgan. They provided us with amazing memories for our lifetime!

Karen N, aboard Catamaran Nemo, July 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

This vacation was outstanding. It ranks in my top 3 trips of all time. Thanks for helping us book the adventure and ensuring our success.

Graham and Kristiann were as good as it gets. Their attention to detail, knowledge of the area and sailing, plus constant focus on our safety and entertainment made this vacation spectacular.

Allende was extremely comfortable, clean and well ventilated. While I have very limited sailing experience, I do have extensive inland water boating experience. The layout of Allende was extremely comfortable. I never felt confined or cramped.

My favorite aspect of the yacht becomes difficult to answer, because it really depended on the time of day. In the mornings, I found it extremely relaxing to be up top on the sun pad to stretch and enjoy a cappuccino (they had a professional cappuccino machine - I mean come-on!). In the evenings, the outdoor aft lounge was perfect to relax with a drink and watch the sunset. Plus on several nights, they used a green egg grill to cook dinner. So it does not get much better than watching a Caribbean sunset while smelling a grill cooking up dinner. And lastly, sleeping; the cabins can be turned down to a low temp while the gentle rocking puts you to sleep. I had some of the best sleeping that I can remember while onboard Allende. So my favorite aspect of the yacht is difficult to choose.

The menu was certainly customized to our preferences. Kristiann even made separate meals a few times when she knew one of our guests would not enjoy the dish everyone else was eating. The food was extremely well prepared and almost all of it was prepared from scratch. It was the quality of high end restaurant. Very impressed!

The itinerary was just what we were seeking. Each night we discussed the next day’s route and agenda. And if desired, we could change things up to do more or less of an activity.

I am extremely happy with Sailing Directions. John was certain to be sure our desires and budget matched perfectly with the yacht and crew. Sailing Directions' website made my selection much easier.

I must say that vacations usually take about three days for me to finally relax and enjoy the trip. This vacation on the Allende with Graham and Kristiann was different. I was completely relaxed by the first morning. It was perfect!

David K, aboard Catamaran Allende, July 2018  sailing the British Virgin Islands

Theunis & Rebecca were friendly, knowledgeable, attentive and accommodating. Great crew.

We love the king size beds aboard Anastasia. Theunis is a wealth of information. Rebecca is a great chef. Could not have had better food anywhere.

John at Sailing Directions was a great help in planning this trip. He always answered my emails in a timely and helpful manner.

Priscilla F, aboard Catamaran Anastasia, July 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Conor & Taylor are very comfortable to be around. Connor was always asking how we were doing and if we needed anything - we loved his happy hour drinks!

Great Adventure has a great outside layout and cabins (each with its own shower and controlled thermostat).

Food was Amazing! Beautifully presented and perfect portions. Taylor is an amazing cook. We looked forward to apps and meals every day and were not disappointed.

Tom G, aboard Catamaran Great Adventure, July 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Jill and Ryan were unreal. Best vacation experience we have ever had - largely due to their considerate demeanor coupled with their incredible knowledge of boating and the local geography. They were like an aunt and uncle to our boys - they loved spending time with them.

Great boat - our favorite part of the yacht was the master stateroom - luxurious!

I was amazed at the food Jill was able to produce given the limited galley she had to work with. We looked forward to eating every meal.

The itinerary was perfect - we were constantly on the go. We loved the choice spots we had to anchor to in the evenings.

I thought you did an excellent job from start to finish. Thank you! We will be sure to recommend you to anyone who asks us about our trip.

Ryan and Jill were outstanding hosts - they made our first extended boating experience exciting and a true pleasure. Not an easy task given that we had 3 boys ages 6, 10 and 13.

Scott M, aboard Catamaran Better Days, July 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

We must say that the trip was absolutely spectacular. Everything was great and both Michaela and Andrew were outstanding. Michaela a Master chef and scuba diving teacher and Andrew a true and passionate Captain.

The food was delicious and very well presented. The variety of dishes was very impressive. Michaela is a true Master Chef. It was most of the time adjusted to our preferences.

We would love to do this trip again and we have already given the link to sailingdirections.com to many of our friends. We highly recommend Sailing Directions.

Great team Andrew and Michaela, Scuba Dives that were one of the most beautiful our divers had seen. We appreciate that the food, drinks were very generous. Thank you so much for all your help on this trip.

Monica A, aboard Catamaran Flip Flop, July 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Absolutely the best vacation we have ever had! We Loved Loved Marcus & Risa! Between the two of them I’m not sure who knew more about every place we went. We Highly recommend Neverland to all our friends & family!! John did a wonderful job and was always responsive to ALL my emails. We would love to book and go again!

Leslee M, aboard Catamaran Neverland, June 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

The whole experience was fabulous! The crew could not have been better - period! Seahome has a wonderful layout and everything was a favored aspect. The food was fabulous and customized for each person. The itinerary was great and the dives fantastic!

Nick B, aboard Catamaran Seahome, June 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Matt & Dana (Dana filled in for Casey) were very friendly and clearly knew what they were doing. Matt’s knowledge of the islands led us to many places others may not have the opportunity to experience and we took home several recipes and ideas from Dana’s cooking. My 83 year mother traveled with us and Matt & Dana were very patient and willing to help her so she had a wonderful experience.

We found the boat very comfortable for 6 people and the crew. We really only slept in the cabins, but they were big enough to sleep well. We had plenty of space on the deck, whether we were up front when sailing or sitting in the back for dinner/lunch. The boat is a little bit older which we knew going in but is well maintained and very comfortable.

The water toys really added to the experience, wake boarding, snorkeling, paddle boarding, the go-pro and Peggy & Ursula made sure we had plenty to do in the water.

The food was fantastic, really nice variety and plenty to eat. Dana did a great job creating menu options for my vegan daughter who probably had more variety on the boat than any other time. Very locally focused, which was nice in terms of experiencing new tastes.

Eddie Y, aboard Catamaran Island R&R, June 2018  sailing the British Virgin Islands

Michaela and Andrew could not have been more friendly, knowledgeable, attentive and accommodating. Spending six days and nights in relatively tight quarters was managed to perfection by those two. They were in sync the entire time and worked like a well-oiled machine. They were so comfortable and pleasant to be around.

Flip Flop was a great boat. They kept it immaculate throughout the duration of the trip.

We did not have a bad meal on the boat. Truth be told, we didn’t have a meal that was any less than fantastic. We had one meal on land and regretted it. The whole time we said things like, “Michaela would do a much better job than this. Michaela makes a better cocktail than this. Michaela’s presentation is world’s better than this etc.”. The food was plentiful but not gigantic portions. We loved that. Also, it was all so fresh and beautifully plated. It was obvious that she had carefully read about our preferences and tailored her menus accordingly.

The itinerary was perfect. Just the right combination of movement, beaches, snorkeling, bars, etc.

Sailing Directions website is absolutely fine and easy to navigate. John, you did a great job. Specifically, you always got back to me quickly which I appreciated.

Additional comments: I want to say something about Andrew and Michaela and their relationships with my kids. A bonus that I only realized after our week was the relationship established with our kids and those two. For my 24 year old son, Andrew was a cool respite from dealing with the estrogen of his sisters. They played games, read the same book, and simply had a nice time together. For my 22 and 19 year old girls, they saw in Michaela an interesting, smart, capable young woman pursuing her dream and being an equal and complimentary partner to her guy. I treasure that part of our vacation.

When you chat with Andrew and Michaela, please pass along our gratitude.

Joyce F, aboard Catamaran Flip Flop, June 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Everyone in our party felt like we had the best crew in the Caribbean in Marcus and Risa. Our daughter received a marriage proposal at the Baths and Marcus and Risa really made it special.

We liked that Neverland’s en-suite bathrooms, the upper seating area and the fact it was a new boat.

Risa is a magician. Still not sure how she produced 3 award winning meals a day for 9 people in the tiny galley! And without re-provisioning during the charter.

Marcus has a deep knowledge of the area and hit all the highlights we hoped for.

Communication was excellent from Sailing Directions. John did a great job helping us through the impact of the hurricane.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Sailing Directions and Marcus/Risa/Neverland.

Chris P, aboard Catamaran Neverland, May 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Tony, Kate, Kerry and Su were all very professional, friendly and knowledgeable. They made everyone feel so comfortable. They each possessed a lot of knowledge about the Virgin Islands from the history, to the landscape and geography as well as about the waters the creatures within. The attention they gave to us was perfect - we didn't want for anything. We couldn't have asked for a better crew for our first charter and for the Xenia. A match made in heaven.

Xenia 74 is an amazing vessel. The design and decor were fabulous. The cabins were very comfortable - especially the master. I still can't get over how much space there was. We loved being able to look through the port hole over our bed to see the stars. The group spent most of our time outside to enjoy the great weather and temperatures. We used every space from the front net area, the bridge, the side beds and back bench in the rear covered space and the aft steps were great for fishing and fish watching - especially at night with the lights on. It's hard to pick a favorite and if I have to it's the outside covered eating area where we enjoyed all of our meals while onboard. It was a great space for our group of 8 to recap the day over cocktails and amazing cuisine.

I don't know how Kate created what she did in such a small galley (I didn't see it on the Xenia but have seen them on other boats). She is a very talented chef. We were blown away by every single meal. She did a fabulous job of catering to everyone's tastes and preferences. One guest has a gluten sensitivity and she made sure there was an option available for her every time. The meals were creative, decadent and wonderfully presented.

The itinerary was perfect. We wondered how much it might need to change as a result of the hurricanes last year. Captain Tony put his knowledge to use by adjusting to ensure we saw fabulous beaches, the cool beach bars and hang outs, serene anchorages and the popular spots such as the Baths, Foxy's and more. I really appreciated how he reviewed the next day itinerary with us and gave us options.

We were very happy with the service from Sailing Directions. I appreciated the updates you provided following the storms and the very helpful reminders along the way. The website is extremely helpful. Especially the charter preparation information. It really set us up for success.

Our charter was an experience of a lifetime. We will always cherish the memories we made.

Diane B, aboard Catamaran Xenia 74, May 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

We had an amazing trip with Ted and Ashley. William (Ted) was great, always thinking ahead, friendly and professional, we could not have hoped for a better captain. He always had suggestions on activity without imposing anything specific, he truly let us customize our vacation.

Windscape was comfortable and roomy, we really liked the fact that we each had our own room.

The food was great and well presented, excellent variety.

Amazing experience, this was my first crewed charter and I am very happy we did not do a bareboat as I did not know the USVI/BVIs, this was a true vacation! We loved it so much we may do it again.

Stephane L, aboard Catamaran Windscape, May 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Soterion was awesome but even more so was Ben and Rachel. They really made the trip for us amazing for us. We could have been on a dingy and the trip would have been amazing because of them.

Ben and Rachel were amazing. I truly would call them friends after this trip. They were extremely friendly and very knowledgeable of sailing, and all things BVI. They truly knew how to accommodate us based on our likes, dislikes, and level of activity based on our personalities. This is a vacation where one could really relax knowing that everything was handled by Ben and Rachel.

Soterion was very clean, all rooms well ventilated with air conditioning. The best part of Soterion was how roomy it was. I worried about 10 humans living on a 57ft catamaran for 7 days. It never felt crowded and there was always some place to go if you need to be alone.

Rachel is a great chef. She was able to accommodate special diets and make each of their dishes to their liking. Every meal from breakfast to dessert in the evenings was great.

We loved that Ben and Rachel were so experienced. We are an active bunch and the itinerary was customized to those activities. The entire group liked the evening "family" meetings we had with Ben and Rachel to discuss the next day's activities and adjust based on our feedback.

The entire group was very satisfied with Sailing Directions planning and commitment. This was our first sailing charter, we had many questions which John and the Sailing Directions website answered. Very impressed, we knew exactly what to expect from packing our lightweight luggage to water taxis to hotel recommendations prior and after the sail. We are discussing another charter for the end of next year.

Marcos T, aboard Catamaran Soterion, May 2018  sailing the British Virgin Islands

Ryan and Jill were awesome. In the 2 weeks leading up to our arrival Jill was in regular contact with our whole gang on little details from food, drinks and activities. They even got a coconut tree for us to plant on an island.

We enjoyed the entire boat from the trampolines, hanging out front under the sun shade and chilling on the back of the boat.

I am certain there is no other crew that was as prepared food-wise as these guys. I am not sure how many cruises I have been on but it probably more than 24. If I took the best meals from all of those cruises, it wouldn't come close to the food that we ate last week, not even close!

Our charter broker, John, was very responsive the whole time. We will definitely book another trip in the year or 2.

Kevin B, aboard Catamaran Better Days, May 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Matt and Dana (standing in for Casey) were stars. They were more than friendly they were like family. Matt's knowledge of the islands, special stories and the history were amazing. They accommodated our gluten-free needs as well as fresh and healthy with flavors Galore and presentation of a Michelin meal. The breakfasts were exquisite with poached egg on portobello mushrooms to spectacular Portuguese sausage and Spanish omelets.

Matt encouraged us, with little bit of a nudge, to try things that we were a little apprehensive to do but we're so thankful that he did.

The Virgin Islands were way beyond our expectations. Matt knows his stuff when it comes to balancing each day with as much as you could possibly do and yet fully enjoying each moment.

This was a bucket list trip but because Dana and Matt made it beyond our expectations we have high hopes to repeat this vacation. We are fortunate to be youthful in our late 50s and 60s and this trip reconfirmed that we want to continue to push and enjoy this part of life.

Robert H, aboard Catamaran Island R&R, May 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Split Second was spotless, the flybridge upper deck was our favorite hangout.

Jack and Jaimey are a phenomenal team. The itinerary was perfect and they made it fun.

As a former restaurant owner, with 35 years in the industry, I would have hired Jamie in a heart beat but I know I could never match the view she has from her kitchen. She is talented, precise, and her food presentation is out of a magazine, while ALL being made from scratch, right down to the hamburger buns. The seasoning flavors and textures, are unbelievable, especially for a self trained chef, and she is also a dam good sailor. There are only 2 words; 5 star.

Thanks for all your help arranging the charter, it was a wonderful vacation. If I can ever stop talking about it, I will most likely be booking again, and will certainly refer, Sailing Directions.

Jack W, aboard Catamaran Split Second, April 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

> MORE crewed yacht charter reviews