Customer testimonials, Caribbean yacht charter reviews

Below is a sample of the crewed charter yacht reviews that Sailing Directions receives from customers on a regular basis:

Catamaran Miss Kirsty

We all had the most incredible time.

We have nothing but praise for "Shawtumn". They're an amazing team - we always felt so well looked after. Autumn is an amazing cook. Always kept us on time so we didn't have to worry about anything. They read our group well and suggested excursions were always appreciated. I don't have any captains to compare Shawn to, but he seems to really know what he's doing and we all felt very safe. And added bonus - they're very fun to be around!

Pelican is very clean. A/C kept us comfortable at night. So many good places for lounging above deck.

The pre-cruise preference list was very helpful. The meals kept getting better and better. So impressive that Autumn can make that magic happen in such a small space.

Sailing Directions has great service, emails were always rapidly answered.

THANK YOU FOR THIS AMAZING EXPERIENCE!

Rosa M, aboard Catamaran Pelican, March 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

The crew were excellent. Everything on board was great. We particularly enjoyed all the branding with logos on everything, made it very professional. Food was spectacular and well presented. The menu was customized to our preferences.

David C, aboard Catamaran Hypnautic, March 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Terry and Ruth were both amazing. They are delightfully friendly and good humored, exceptionally knowledgeable about all aspects of the charter experience, and very attentive to each guest. Ruth accommodated one couple’s special dietary needs superbly and without drawing attention to it.

The Big Dog was in excellent condition inside and out. The yacht was clean, neat, well-organized and very ship-shape. Very nice that the guest cabins are air conditioned. She sailed well and comfortably and is very well outfitted. We used the kayaks, paddle board and float numerous times.

Ruth is a master chef! Meal after meal she prepared and served outstanding cuisine, and Terry always found the perfect cocktails and wines to go with each. It was like going to a five star restaurant three times a day!

Great itinerary hitting all the destinations we sought. Terry is very knowledgeable about the islands, history, must-see sights and best anchorages, and he and Ruth have developed great contacts on each island for local transportation, shopping and restaurants.

Sailing Directions provided excellent and professional service and was easy to work with. The website was detailed, well organized and informative.

This charter far exceeded our high expectations. Terry and Ruth are outstanding professionals and we recommend them without reservation.

Eric S, aboard Catamaran The Big Dog, February 2019  sailing the British Virgin Islands

Thank you for providing us with a fabulous vacation!

Colin and Julianna were tremendous and truly the best. The meals were like a 5 star restaurant. I told Julianna I truly believe she could beat Bobby Flay! We had a vegetarian and one that didn’t like spicy. Everyone was perfectly accommodated. 5 Stars. Colin was amazing also. I feel we were blessed to have such a great crew!

The yacht was perfect and we loved it all. Everything was perfect from booking until the end of the voyage. I will highly recommend you to anyone considering a wonderful vacation.

Earl H, aboard Catamaran Tabula Rasa, February 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Crew: The crew consisting of Brand, Jayde and Degorey were unbelievable. they were friendly, knowledgeable, attentive, accommodating and more. They worked so hard to take care of all 10 of us and never once made us feel like it was a chore. Such an amazing group of young, smart, kind and adventurous people. We all really connected with them and it was very hard to say good bye.

Yacht: Seahome was so comfortable. We were at maximum capacity but it never felt crowded. We had a couple of ventilation issues but that was actually our fault and Brand took care of it easily. We had no idea our beds were going to be made for us and our bathrooms cleaned daily! What a pleasant surprise! I would say that our favorite aspect of the yacht was that there was a spot for everyone. It is funny how we all sort of gravitated to the space we needed. I loved the cushioned sunny area up top the best. The perfect spot to catch some rays during the day and to stargaze at night. The guys in our group love to play cards so the large table in the back of the boat was perfect for that. Two of our guys hung out frequently on the small seats on either side of the boat way up front.

Food: AMAZING! My only complaint is that Jayde makes me look sooooo bad! What she comes up with out of that tiny kitchen is nothing short of magic. We took pictures of every meal. The presentation and better yet, the taste was so awesome. We told Jayde she should write a cookbook. Jayde effortlessly accommodated our one group member that does not like seafood.

Itinerary: We elected to have captain Brand choose our itinerary based on our preference sheet and the weather. It was perfect!

Sailing Directions: You have been really great to work with. I think the number one thing is communication and you were always so willing to answer all questions and within hours, not days! I hope that we have the opportunity to sail the BVI's again soon. I've decided I would like this to be my happy 60th trip in 2022 so we will be in touch for that, if not sooner. I would do this trip every year!

A friend asked, "how would you rate your trip on a scale of 1-10?" My answer was "20!" It truly did exceed all of our expectations. Thanks Sailing Directions!!!

Tammie K, aboard Catamaran Seahome, February 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

The trip far exceeded all our expectations. It went very smoothly from planning to completion. The website is very useful and user friendly.

The boat is very spacious with plenty of areas for alone time if desired.

The crew were excellent. The food was outstanding. Unbelievable that food of that quality and variety can be cooked on a boat. We all had a great time.

Sean B, aboard Catamaran Bagheera, February 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

We had many choices of charter yachts to pick from and we feel we could not have made a better choice! From the moment we boarded, we felt welcome and the vibe was completely different from other charters we have been on. The yacht was spotless and welcome cocktails and snacks were awaiting.

The vessel was very comfortable, clean and obviously well maintained. The master cabin was huge! More than enough room with lots of storage. A water maker onboard is a big plus. There was plenty of ice for cold drinks and both crew were great bartenders!

Captain Taylor and Chef Margaret were both very professional. We noticed they both helped each other with daily duty’s and were always attentive to our needs, always putting us first!

Taylor was cautious when necessary and showed great seamanship. He gave me pointers on honing sailing techniques and mooring procedures. While diving, he was a great dive master, always being cautious and took us to new dive sites we never heard of before!

Margaret’s cuisine is amazing and always left us more than satisfied. Both went out of their way to accommodate us, with Margaret even taking us ashore on special tours of places we had not seen on other trips.

Overall, our experience was excellent, starting with timely correspondence with Sailing Directions, the yacht and crew. Taylor even arranged a driver to be waiting for us at the airport! When we return, we will look for the crew of the White House for our next adventure.

Sailing Directions is a well run company and I have already recommended them to a couple friends who are interested in chartering in the future.

Once again thank you for the attentive way you handled our trip. You made it very easy! We will be back!

Shawn R, aboard Catamaran Better Days, February 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

The crew, Taylor and Denise were friendly, knowledgeable, attentive and accommodating during the trip.

Yacht Blue Pepper was very comfortable, clean and well ventilated, I really liked layout of the cabins and their comfort.

Food was great! The chef customized the menu to our preferences 100%!

Everybody loved the itinerary of the area that we sailed.

Hope to be back next year and sail with the same great CREW aboard Blue Pepper.

Jack C, aboard Catamaran Blue Pepper, February 2019  sailing the British Virgin Islands

Dylan and Isabella were amazing. Slivochka was very clean and comfortable. Our favorite spot was probably the fly deck. Amazing views and a wonderful opportunity to visit with Dylan and learn about the Islands.

I can’t even tell you how wonderful the food was. It was so good my children wanted to take Bella home with us. We are still talking about how good the food was.

The itinerary was great. The crew really accommodated our wishes for beaches with as few people as we could get. We had some amazing anchorages.

Katy S, aboard Catamaran Slivochka, February 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

We departed our amazing charter today at noon. Port to Vino is a beautiful catamaran, well maintained and well equipped. The layout was perfect for our group of 4 couples. Could not have recommended a better fit for our group.

Jeff and Caitlin did a wonderful job managing our charter, cooking for us and entertaining us, kicking off each afternoon with Jeff specialty cocktails and finishing up with wines and desserts. They are an amazing team making the service for 8 individuals look easy and providing transitions flawlessly throughout our days. Both have so much to share of their marine knowledge and were so inclusive in helping us shape our charter route.

We had a stellar vacation week aboard Port to Vino. Thank you so much for your expertise in matching our needs and desires to such a beautiful boat and such an outstanding and accommodating crew. We would recommend your services, Caitlin and Jeff and Port to Vino with our highest regards.

Katrinia Y, aboard Catamaran Port to Vino, February 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

The crew, Pete & Jade, were wonderful. They worked round the clock to learn and then satisfy all our wishes. They were knowledgeable and communicative, and we all became fond of them personally.

The yacht was tip top and beautiful. It had every accommodation and extra toys we could think of, and the crew presented it all with eager aplomb.

Jade is an exceptional and imaginative chef. Pete was the sommelier without limits. Jade's meals incorporated many local ingredients which she procured along the way, and her meals were varied to include all our diverse preferences. Their presentation was also exceptional to the point that the folks interested in culinary exploits photographed most of them.

There was good variety in the stops, though as expected, most were fairly natural and undeveloped except St. Vincent and Granada. Mayreau was very much fun to explore and swim at. Tobago Cayes were also a highlight.

John, you were most helpful and responsive. Thank you for arranging a most wonderful trip so smoothly.

Peter M, aboard Catamaran Xenia 50, January 2019  sailing the Caribbean Grenadines

From the beginning, Ryan & Dani were friendly and accommodating via email. From the moment we stepped on the boat, we felt welcomed and encouraged to feel at home. We couldn't believe how our wish list was coming to life. Dani and Ryan were friendly and approachable, and soon part of our group.

Stop Work Ord was very clean, and so comfortable. My husband loves his AC and appreciated that Dani and Ryan closed up the rooms every afternoon and cooled them down. I was surprised at how "open" the rooms felt. And not just because we had the master. The large windows and the light from the sky lights didn't make you feel claustrophobic. The bedding and towels were nice and plentiful. I think we were all happy with the amount of room to spread out. Even 8 of us could find plenty of space.

The food was incredible. We all agreed that we didn't expect it to be so gourmet and beautifully presented. We felt so spoiled. And full.

For most it was their first time to the VI, much less the BVI, and for all of us it was the deepest we had been. What's not to like? Dani and Ryan took us to quiet beaches, party beaches, snorkeling, long stretches of sailing. Our favorite things were probably our "tour" over Virgin Gorda, and our day at Jost Van Dyke. Because of the weather, and Dani and Ryan's attention to safety, we spent our last night in a bay at St John. Our "sunset cruise" over after our day at the beach was probably our most photogenic evening of the trip.

Working with Sailing Directions was easy and quick. We didn't know what we were doing, but, never got confused or behind. The information once we booked was easy. The website was great.

Stacy C, aboard Catamaran Stop Work Order, January 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Jason and Dana were great! Very friendly and accommodating, they made us feel immediately at ease.

Island R&R was comfortable and clean. Dana did an amazing job with the meals, we felt very full and we were given perfectly prepared selections.

Our itinerary was a perfect mix of solitude and other people. I loved being on the beach and the rest of the group liked the snorkeling so it was a good mix. Cooper's Island and seeing the Super Blood Moon Eclipse was a highlight!

Anne Marie R, aboard Catamaran Island R&R, January 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Jason and Dana were great! Very friendly and accommodating, they made us feel immediately at ease.

Island R&R was comfortable and clean. The AC on the starboard side was not working as well as the other side of the boat but Jason did all he could to get it cool enough. There was a few spots of wear and tear on the boat, but Dana and Jason kept it extremely clean and organized and the sheets and bedding were great.

Dana did an amazing job with the meals, we felt very full and we were given perfectly prepared selections!

Our itinerary was a perfect mix of solitude and other people. I loved being on the beach and the rest of the group liked the snorkeling so it was a good mix. Cooper Island and seeing the Super Blood Moon Eclipse was a highlight!

Anne Marie R, aboard Catamaran Island R&R, January 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Our week was spectacular! Taylor and Margaret were terrific and it felt like we were hanging out with family. They are personable, attentive and knowledgeable.

The White House is immaculate. Taylor is crazy organized and always picking up behind us and keeping things organized. I had the master suite and felt guilty with the amount of space I had. The other 2 cabins were great and the kids loved them.

Margaret’s food was delicious and always presented beautifully! She is a very healthy cook and we enjoyed that. She never let us go hungry or thirsty

We developed the itinerary as we went to accommodate everyone’s wants. So it was great.

Everyone would love to sail again with Taylor and Margaret. My kids hit it off great with them and they spent a couple of late nights playing games and talking. I would recommend sailing with them to everyone. We could not have been more pleased. Hope we can do it again soon!

Frances M, aboard Catamaran Better Days, January 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

Simply amazing! Both Rich and Lisa provided outstanding service. They were both very knowledgeable and very accommodating. We couldn't have asked for a better crew!

The Luar was very comfortable and immaculate. Lisa was always cleaning! I loved the sundeck up top to watch the stars!

Oh my gosh, the food was amazing! Rich and Lisa accommodated teenagers and my allergies. My teens came home raving about the food.

Rich was super smart and with it being New Year's week - he reversed the itinerary after hearing me comment I'd prefer not to be with lots of boats. On average we moored with 2 other boats - perfect!

The crew makes a boat / week.

Mary Ann S, aboard Catamaran Luar, January 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

The cruise aboard Lady J was great. The kids and grandkids loved the trip and the crew, and I think the crew loved the kids. Happy New Year!

Heather H, aboard Power Yacht Lady J, January 2019  sailing the Bahamas

Leon, Wendy & Lisa were very were they friendly and accommodating. Sail Away was roomy and clean. Wonderful crew and cruise.

Stephen Z, aboard Catamaran Sail Away, January 2019  sailing the Virgin Islands

The crew were phenomenal! We listed some “want to see” locations but we trusted them to know the area and take us to special spots and they did just that!

The food was gourmet level at many meals and beautifully presented. We especially loved the shaded lounge area at the stern.

Barbara H, aboard Catamaran Free Ingwe, December 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

I write this on our final day aboard and we are slightly saddened because we are leaving two new family members, Eddie and Danielle. They are much more than captain & chef/mate. They treated us and our grandkids with great care and, oh boy did we have fun. Prepare for an adventure, where every “little thing” is done for you. Eddie and Danielle you are the best, thank you.

Tom F, aboard Power Yacht Cat Cay, December 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

You ALL went out of your way to make our trip an experience of a lifetime. Catering not only to each person’s culinary desires but giving us the FULL experience. Everyone had every idiosyncratic whim fulfilled. How you made 10 very different people ALL feel like they were super special and gave each one a VIP experience was the best I’ve seen of the crews we’ve sailed with.

Eric L, aboard Catamaran Seahome, December 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Jamie & Thea were wonderful hosts, and complement each other very well. Jamie was always gracious in accommodating our requests for water sports, or for being dropped or picked up ashore, for example. And he was very open to chalking out and changing itineraries as desired. Thea was cheerful and very friendly. They gave us the space we needed, yet were there whenever we needed them. By the end of it, they felt like family.

Blossom was very well maintained, and quite spotless. We each found our favorite spots whether it was lying on the front trampoline gazing at the starry night sky, or sitting in the front seats with the wind in our face, or lounging in the rear dining area. Blossom is perfect for a family of 4. The main bedroom suite has a fairly long hallway with closets and drawers, so there was enough room to park our stuff. Definitely advisable to just carry duffel bags, though - leave your large wheeled suitcases at home.

This was our first yacht charter, so we didn't quite know what to expect, food-wise. Turns out we were in for a very pleasant surprise. Thea is a superb cook, and we had great variety day after day, starting with the shrimp salad the day we first boarded, which was so welcome after our flight in that morning. It is amazing that so much variety was presented, given they had to stock up for the entire week. Thea was very willing to customize the food to our tastes. And to top it all, the food was very elegantly presented each day, whether it was breakfast, lunch or dinner. Proper silverware, cloth napkins, candles, decorations on the table, and the plating was done with care.

The itinerary was great. Jamie & Thea showed us some key highlights of the British and US Virgin Islands. We saw great snorkeling spots, some caves, nice hiking trails. Some islands were more populated (like St. Thomas), or had a night scene (like Jost Van Dyke), whereas others were absolutely pristine (like Leinster Bay in St John). So we felt we got a real good mix of scenes. Also, the seas were never rough, so we got a fairly calm sailing throughout.

Since we were booking this blind, all online, without ever having met anyone at Sailing Directions, we were a bit concerned however, the people at Sailing Directions, specifically John Lane, proved to be very professional. Every aspect was fairly described in the website. We tried doing a yacht charter the previous year, but unfortunately our boat ended up getting damaged in the wake of the 2 hurricanes that hit that year. Sailing Directions promptly refunded all our deposit, without us even asking for it.

Will definitely recommend Sailing Directions to friends.

Nikhil G, aboard Catamaran Blossom, December 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Thank you so much for a great week. We have loved every moment, the week went by much too quickly. All of the food was so yummy and such a treat to not cook for a week :)

Ryan and Jill were fantastic - super friendly and easy to be with - very knowledgeable both from a sailing point (we were very confident in Ryan (and Jill’s) ability to “drive” the boat - they totally knew what they were doing - and also knowledgeable in great areas to snorkel and anchor for the day/night. Accommodating? - Yep! They pretty much asked us what we wanted to do and made it happen each day!

Oui Cherie is a great boat! We were a little worried as our last boat was slightly larger so we were afraid we wouldn’t be “wowed” by this one but that was not the case at all. Because it’s a new boat everything was super clean and new and nice. Favorite part of boat was either the front cushioned area or the flybridge - that really added a lot of extra space to spread out.

What’s not to love about the BVI’s?! Beautiful area and nice warm weather. It has been a great week! Thank you.

Allison G, aboard Catamaran Oui Cherie, December 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

You have our undying thanks for recommending Breanker as we had an absolutely wonderful time. Best. Vacation. Ever. As the kids would say. Marianne and Kristian were perfect hosts, the vessel was immaculate, the food was gourmet quality. Even the weather was perfect, although you probably can’t claim credit for that. The BVIs were gorgeous and welcoming. We would definitely consider another trip, although we are not the sort of people who can afford to do things like this regularly. Sincerely,

Mary S, aboard Catamaran Breanker, December 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

I can say it was the best vacation ever. Taylor and Margaret were awesome. Wise beyond their years. Would give them a 10 on everything professional and mature. I would also give them a 10 on food which was wonderful!
Thanks best v ca ever.

Cathy H, aboard Catamaran Better Days, December 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

The crew were FANTASTIC! They were friendly, knowledgeable, attentive, accommodating and more.

The food was amazing. 5 stars for the food and presentation.

Kathy B, aboard Catamaran Dianna Rose, December 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Vacation of a Lifetime. After a busy month at work at our restaurant I decided to make my wife Linda’s dream come true. We have been happily married for over 35 years, made a good life and enjoying our late adulthood. Linda and I have always wanted to sail/cruise on a sailing ship. I am against the large cruise ship experience, don’t like the idea of small cabins, limited privacy and having to cue up with my fellow passengers to eat and or participate in events.

After many hours of research, I realized that chartering our own catamaran could be what floats our boat. Since we were a little late in the average booking process, less than 4 weeks before I departure I was worried I might have difficulties finding my charter. Luckily I found www.sailingdirections.com. The site is easy to navigate, has all the information you need to make a decision.

Linda was jumping for joy when I pulled up the website and showed her what we could be doing in a couple of weeks. We spend about an hour looking at different boats and crews that were available during our time. We settled on the Hypnautic, a 6 passenger catamaran for 6 nights and send out email off sailing to sailing directions. John Lane and his team responded within an hour and informed us of the process. 24 hours later we put our deposit down.

We were three weeks away from departure when we got our first email about selecting our preferences, itinerary, food choices even which kind of alcoholic beverage we preferred.

Julia and Jos send us pictures/information of locations we might be interested in visiting and arranged for our transportation from the airport to the ship’s dock.

December 10th arrived, and we were on our way. Flight was delayed by 3 hours, no problem our taxi was waiting for us. Jos greeted us on the dock and our adventure begun by climbing into a dinghy and boating to the Hypnautic. LOL I was so excited I did not take any pictures.

We were welcomed on the Hypnautic with a welcome beverage and given the tour of our home for the next week. Linda and I were so thrilled, the sounds of the harbor, the smells, the comforts. Jos, our captain and Jules our Mate explained what we should be expecting. They made us feel very comfortable with their knowledge of the area, seamanship and hospitality.

Linda and I had a catamaran to ourselves while surrounded by the BVI’s. Next morning we got to see all the splendor of St Thomas Red Hook Marina while eating a scrumptious breakfast. It became very clear Jos and Julia goal was to exceed our expectations. They always added little details to every action they could to make our trip more enjoyable. I don’t want to give the details away because it would ruin the trip for their next guests. It’s like giving away the story line of a movie plot. Our first snorkeling excursion, I noticed that Jos was observing us to make sure we were proficient as we indicated.

Each day we were cruising and exploring private beaches, visiting beach bars and small villages. We could not stop grinning and pinching ourselves, at night time the sunsets took our breaths away, saw dolphins and turtles, snorkeled caves and reefs, sunned on a sand spit, climbed a mountain, explored the Baths, drank too many rum punches, floated, watched barracuda under the lights, listened to good music, watched a movie, sailed with the wind, waved and danced, slept to light rocking motion in coves, met some fellow travelers as well as locals. Mostly it was peaceful and restful.

We did not have to decide what to do, we let the wind and weather make those decisions for us. I should not forget Jules’s cooking skills, as a restaurant owner and chef I am in awe of her skills with a small oven and a couple of gas burners. Her Cornish Hen is top notch. Our meals were on point and we looked forward to the view from our deck and enjoying her creations.

So here are my reasons why you should book the Hypnautic and experience Jos’s and Jules’ hospitality. I am hoping I get to go on another adventure with them.

1. British Virgin Islands - so many islands to visit in such close proximity

2. Hypnautic a catamaran with awesome features

3. The Crew. Jos and Jules people who strive to exceed your expectations

4. Snorkeling, paddle boarding, floating, swimming, beaching, caving, and exploring

5. Sleeping, napping, relaxing, and enjoying

6. Eating great food, drinking, and snacking

7. The views are always changing

8. Sailing, learning about the islands, cruising,

9. Being relaxed, forgetting all worries.

10. Being thankful that you can have experiences like this

The night I sat with my wife on the sugar deck watching the starts, the barracuda in the blue lit water and our favorite music playing in the background has become my Happy Place.

Thank you John, Jules and Jos for making our dreams a reality and creating some of best moments and feelings in our lives.

Theo H, aboard Catamaran Hypnautic, December 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Dana and Jason were amazing. Dana was amazing her food is the one thing we all missed and talked about when we got home. She always had a great presentation of the food and to was delicious. Jason was fun and always accommodated us in anything we wanted to do. When we come back there is no one else I would want but them to charter us. They went above and beyond.

Island R&R was so nice everything was clean and every morning we woke up and it looked brand new again.

I loved everything we did! We even asked if we could change things up one day and stay longer in Anegada and Jason said sure and rearranged things for us. They never said no to any request and were very accommodating to all our needs.

We loved everything! We will be doing this again!

Jamie G, aboard Catamaran Island R&R, December 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Tyler & Kelsey were awesome.

Re Playtime: We loved it all. Like the convenience of having an icemaker and water maker. We enjoyed the upper deck lounge area as well.

The food was wonderful, tasty, and customized to dietary preferences. It was always beautifully presented.

We enjoyed everywhere we went. Kelsey was like our personal tour guide offering stories, fun, historic & scientific facts.

Thank you!

Jamie H, aboard Catamaran Playtime, July 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

We had a most wonderful vacation with Andrea and Morgan.

Captain Andrea revealed beautiful snorkeling locations to us and showed us the joys of sailing in the BVI.

Morgan was delightful. She provided lovely meals catering to everyone's tastes - sometimes cooking up to three varieties of a meal at a time. Not only was she a wonderful cook, but she was a great role model for the teenage girls on the trip - she was interesting, caring and accomplished.

Captain Andrea struck the perfect balance - engaging with us and giving us space all on the same trip. We can't wait to charter another trip. It's been a long time since we were so very relaxed. Our trip on Nemo accomplished maximum relaxation!

Thank you for everything. Please extend our tremendous thanks to Captain Andrea and Morgan. They provided us with amazing memories for our lifetime!

Karen N, aboard Catamaran Nemo, July 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Theunis & Rebecca were friendly, knowledgeable, attentive and accommodating. Great crew.

We love the king size beds aboard Anastasia. Theunis is a wealth of information. Rebecca is a great chef. Could not have had better food anywhere.

John at Sailing Directions was a great help in planning this trip. He always answered my emails in a timely and helpful manner.

Priscilla F, aboard Catamaran Anastasia, July 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

This vacation was outstanding. It ranks in my top 3 trips of all time. Thanks for helping us book the adventure and ensuring our success.

Graham and Kristiann were as good as it gets. Their attention to detail, knowledge of the area and sailing, plus constant focus on our safety and entertainment made this vacation spectacular.

Allende was extremely comfortable, clean and well ventilated. While I have very limited sailing experience, I do have extensive inland water boating experience. The layout of Allende was extremely comfortable. I never felt confined or cramped.

My favorite aspect of the yacht becomes difficult to answer, because it really depended on the time of day. In the mornings, I found it extremely relaxing to be up top on the sun pad to stretch and enjoy a cappuccino (they had a professional cappuccino machine - I mean come-on!). In the evenings, the outdoor aft lounge was perfect to relax with a drink and watch the sunset. Plus on several nights, they used a green egg grill to cook dinner. So it does not get much better than watching a Caribbean sunset while smelling a grill cooking up dinner. And lastly, sleeping; the cabins can be turned down to a low temp while the gentle rocking puts you to sleep. I had some of the best sleeping that I can remember while onboard Allende. So my favorite aspect of the yacht is difficult to choose.

The menu was certainly customized to our preferences. Kristiann even made separate meals a few times when she knew one of our guests would not enjoy the dish everyone else was eating. The food was extremely well prepared and almost all of it was prepared from scratch. It was the quality of high end restaurant. Very impressed!

The itinerary was just what we were seeking. Each night we discussed the next day’s route and agenda. And if desired, we could change things up to do more or less of an activity.

I am extremely happy with Sailing Directions. John was certain to be sure our desires and budget matched perfectly with the yacht and crew. Sailing Directions' website made my selection much easier.

I must say that vacations usually take about three days for me to finally relax and enjoy the trip. This vacation on the Allende with Graham and Kristiann was different. I was completely relaxed by the first morning. It was perfect!

David K, aboard Catamaran Allende, July 2018  sailing the British Virgin Islands

Conor & Taylor are very comfortable to be around. Connor was always asking how we were doing and if we needed anything - we loved his happy hour drinks!

Great Adventure has a great outside layout and cabins (each with its own shower and controlled thermostat).

Food was Amazing! Beautifully presented and perfect portions. Taylor is an amazing cook. We looked forward to apps and meals every day and were not disappointed.

Tom G, aboard Catamaran Great Adventure, July 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Jill and Ryan were unreal. Best vacation experience we have ever had - largely due to their considerate demeanor coupled with their incredible knowledge of boating and the local geography. They were like an aunt and uncle to our boys - they loved spending time with them.

Great boat - our favorite part of the yacht was the master stateroom - luxurious!

I was amazed at the food Jill was able to produce given the limited galley she had to work with. We looked forward to eating every meal.

The itinerary was perfect - we were constantly on the go. We loved the choice spots we had to anchor to in the evenings.

I thought you did an excellent job from start to finish. Thank you! We will be sure to recommend you to anyone who asks us about our trip.

Ryan and Jill were outstanding hosts - they made our first extended boating experience exciting and a true pleasure. Not an easy task given that we had 3 boys ages 6, 10 and 13.

Scott M, aboard Catamaran Better Days, July 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

We must say that the trip was absolutely spectacular. Everything was great and both Michaela and Andrew were outstanding. Michaela a Master chef and scuba diving teacher and Andrew a true and passionate Captain.

The food was delicious and very well presented. The variety of dishes was very impressive. Michaela is a true Master Chef. It was most of the time adjusted to our preferences.

We would love to do this trip again and we have already given the link to sailingdirections.com to many of our friends. We highly recommend Sailing Directions.

Great team Andrew and Michaela, Scuba Dives that were one of the most beautiful our divers had seen. We appreciate that the food, drinks were very generous. Thank you so much for all your help on this trip.

Monica A, aboard Catamaran Flip Flop, July 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Absolutely the best vacation we have ever had! We Loved Loved Marcus & Risa! Between the two of them I’m not sure who knew more about every place we went. We Highly recommend Neverland to all our friends & family!! John did a wonderful job and was always responsive to ALL my emails. We would love to book and go again!

Leslee M, aboard Catamaran Neverland, June 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

The whole experience was fabulous! The crew could not have been better - period! Seahome has a wonderful layout and everything was a favored aspect. The food was fabulous and customized for each person. The itinerary was great and the dives fantastic!

Nick B, aboard Catamaran Seahome, June 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Matt & Dana (Dana filled in for Casey) were very friendly and clearly knew what they were doing. Matt’s knowledge of the islands led us to many places others may not have the opportunity to experience and we took home several recipes and ideas from Dana’s cooking. My 83 year mother traveled with us and Matt & Dana were very patient and willing to help her so she had a wonderful experience.

We found the boat very comfortable for 6 people and the crew. We really only slept in the cabins, but they were big enough to sleep well. We had plenty of space on the deck, whether we were up front when sailing or sitting in the back for dinner/lunch. The boat is a little bit older which we knew going in but is well maintained and very comfortable.

The water toys really added to the experience, wake boarding, snorkeling, paddle boarding, the go-pro and Peggy & Ursula made sure we had plenty to do in the water.

The food was fantastic, really nice variety and plenty to eat. Dana did a great job creating menu options for my vegan daughter who probably had more variety on the boat than any other time. Very locally focused, which was nice in terms of experiencing new tastes.

Eddie Y, aboard Catamaran Island R&R, June 2018  sailing the British Virgin Islands

Michaela and Andrew could not have been more friendly, knowledgeable, attentive and accommodating. Spending six days and nights in relatively tight quarters was managed to perfection by those two. They were in sync the entire time and worked like a well-oiled machine. They were so comfortable and pleasant to be around.

Flip Flop was a great boat. They kept it immaculate throughout the duration of the trip.

We did not have a bad meal on the boat. Truth be told, we didn’t have a meal that was any less than fantastic. We had one meal on land and regretted it. The whole time we said things like, “Michaela would do a much better job than this. Michaela makes a better cocktail than this. Michaela’s presentation is world’s better than this etc.”. The food was plentiful but not gigantic portions. We loved that. Also, it was all so fresh and beautifully plated. It was obvious that she had carefully read about our preferences and tailored her menus accordingly.

The itinerary was perfect. Just the right combination of movement, beaches, snorkeling, bars, etc.

Sailing Directions website is absolutely fine and easy to navigate. John, you did a great job. Specifically, you always got back to me quickly which I appreciated.

Additional comments: I want to say something about Andrew and Michaela and their relationships with my kids. A bonus that I only realized after our week was the relationship established with our kids and those two. For my 24 year old son, Andrew was a cool respite from dealing with the estrogen of his sisters. They played games, read the same book, and simply had a nice time together. For my 22 and 19 year old girls, they saw in Michaela an interesting, smart, capable young woman pursuing her dream and being an equal and complimentary partner to her guy. I treasure that part of our vacation.

When you chat with Andrew and Michaela, please pass along our gratitude.

Joyce F, aboard Catamaran Flip Flop, June 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Everyone in our party felt like we had the best crew in the Caribbean in Marcus and Risa. Our daughter received a marriage proposal at the Baths and Marcus and Risa really made it special.

We liked that Neverland’s en-suite bathrooms, the upper seating area and the fact it was a new boat.

Risa is a magician. Still not sure how she produced 3 award winning meals a day for 9 people in the tiny galley! And without re-provisioning during the charter.

Marcus has a deep knowledge of the area and hit all the highlights we hoped for.

Communication was excellent from Sailing Directions. John did a great job helping us through the impact of the hurricane.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Sailing Directions and Marcus/Risa/Neverland.

Chris P, aboard Catamaran Neverland, May 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

We had an amazing trip with Ted and Ashley. William (Ted) was great, always thinking ahead, friendly and professional, we could not have hoped for a better captain. He always had suggestions on activity without imposing anything specific, he truly let us customize our vacation.

Windscape was comfortable and roomy, we really liked the fact that we each had our own room.

The food was great and well presented, excellent variety.

Amazing experience, this was my first crewed charter and I am very happy we did not do a bareboat as I did not know the USVI/BVIs, this was a true vacation! We loved it so much we may do it again.

Stephane L, aboard Catamaran Windscape, May 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Tony, Kate, Kerry and Su were all very professional, friendly and knowledgeable. They made everyone feel so comfortable. They each possessed a lot of knowledge about the Virgin Islands from the history, to the landscape and geography as well as about the waters the creatures within. The attention they gave to us was perfect - we didn't want for anything. We couldn't have asked for a better crew for our first charter and for the Xenia. A match made in heaven.

Xenia 74 is an amazing vessel. The design and decor were fabulous. The cabins were very comfortable - especially the master. I still can't get over how much space there was. We loved being able to look through the port hole over our bed to see the stars. The group spent most of our time outside to enjoy the great weather and temperatures. We used every space from the front net area, the bridge, the side beds and back bench in the rear covered space and the aft steps were great for fishing and fish watching - especially at night with the lights on. It's hard to pick a favorite and if I have to it's the outside covered eating area where we enjoyed all of our meals while onboard. It was a great space for our group of 8 to recap the day over cocktails and amazing cuisine.

I don't know how Kate created what she did in such a small galley (I didn't see it on the Xenia but have seen them on other boats). She is a very talented chef. We were blown away by every single meal. She did a fabulous job of catering to everyone's tastes and preferences. One guest has a gluten sensitivity and she made sure there was an option available for her every time. The meals were creative, decadent and wonderfully presented.

The itinerary was perfect. We wondered how much it might need to change as a result of the hurricanes last year. Captain Tony put his knowledge to use by adjusting to ensure we saw fabulous beaches, the cool beach bars and hang outs, serene anchorages and the popular spots such as the Baths, Foxy's and more. I really appreciated how he reviewed the next day itinerary with us and gave us options.

We were very happy with the service from Sailing Directions. I appreciated the updates you provided following the storms and the very helpful reminders along the way. The website is extremely helpful. Especially the charter preparation information. It really set us up for success.

Our charter was an experience of a lifetime. We will always cherish the memories we made.

Diane B, aboard Catamaran Xenia 74, May 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Soterion was awesome but even more so was Ben and Rachel. They really made the trip for us amazing for us. We could have been on a dingy and the trip would have been amazing because of them.

Ben and Rachel were amazing. I truly would call them friends after this trip. They were extremely friendly and very knowledgeable of sailing, and all things BVI. They truly knew how to accommodate us based on our likes, dislikes, and level of activity based on our personalities. This is a vacation where one could really relax knowing that everything was handled by Ben and Rachel.

Soterion was very clean, all rooms well ventilated with air conditioning. The best part of Soterion was how roomy it was. I worried about 10 humans living on a 57ft catamaran for 7 days. It never felt crowded and there was always some place to go if you need to be alone.

Rachel is a great chef. She was able to accommodate special diets and make each of their dishes to their liking. Every meal from breakfast to dessert in the evenings was great.

We loved that Ben and Rachel were so experienced. We are an active bunch and the itinerary was customized to those activities. The entire group liked the evening "family" meetings we had with Ben and Rachel to discuss the next day's activities and adjust based on our feedback.

The entire group was very satisfied with Sailing Directions planning and commitment. This was our first sailing charter, we had many questions which John and the Sailing Directions website answered. Very impressed, we knew exactly what to expect from packing our lightweight luggage to water taxis to hotel recommendations prior and after the sail. We are discussing another charter for the end of next year.

Marcos T, aboard Catamaran Soterion, May 2018  sailing the British Virgin Islands

Ryan and Jill were awesome. In the 2 weeks leading up to our arrival Jill was in regular contact with our whole gang on little details from food, drinks and activities. They even got a coconut tree for us to plant on an island.

We enjoyed the entire boat from the trampolines, hanging out front under the sun shade and chilling on the back of the boat.

I am certain there is no other crew that was as prepared food-wise as these guys. I am not sure how many cruises I have been on but it probably more than 24. If I took the best meals from all of those cruises, it wouldn't come close to the food that we ate last week, not even close!

Our charter broker, John, was very responsive the whole time. We will definitely book another trip in the year or 2.

Kevin B, aboard Catamaran Better Days, May 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Matt and Dana (standing in for Casey) were stars. They were more than friendly they were like family. Matt's knowledge of the islands, special stories and the history were amazing. They accommodated our gluten-free needs as well as fresh and healthy with flavors Galore and presentation of a Michelin meal. The breakfasts were exquisite with poached egg on portobello mushrooms to spectacular Portuguese sausage and Spanish omelets.

Matt encouraged us, with little bit of a nudge, to try things that we were a little apprehensive to do but we're so thankful that he did.

The Virgin Islands were way beyond our expectations. Matt knows his stuff when it comes to balancing each day with as much as you could possibly do and yet fully enjoying each moment.

This was a bucket list trip but because Dana and Matt made it beyond our expectations we have high hopes to repeat this vacation. We are fortunate to be youthful in our late 50s and 60s and this trip reconfirmed that we want to continue to push and enjoy this part of life.

Robert H, aboard Catamaran Island R&R, May 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Split Second was spotless, the flybridge upper deck was our favorite hangout.

Jack and Jaimey are a phenomenal team. The itinerary was perfect and they made it fun.

As a former restaurant owner, with 35 years in the industry, I would have hired Jamie in a heart beat but I know I could never match the view she has from her kitchen. She is talented, precise, and her food presentation is out of a magazine, while ALL being made from scratch, right down to the hamburger buns. The seasoning flavors and textures, are unbelievable, especially for a self trained chef, and she is also a dam good sailor. There are only 2 words; 5 star.

Thanks for all your help arranging the charter, it was a wonderful vacation. If I can ever stop talking about it, I will most likely be booking again, and will certainly refer, Sailing Directions.

Jack W, aboard Catamaran Split Second, April 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Byron and Dianne were a delightful to spend a week with. Byron was very knowledgeable and glad to share his knowledge. I honestly don’t know what they could have done to make our trip any better.

The boat was kept very clean and they ran the air every night. It is a very solid boat.

The food was out of this world. My family did not even want to go to shore for dinner. Dianne is a very talented cook. Everything was fresh and healthy.

We enjoyed the Virgin Islands very much. There was just enough sailing and activities and the weather was perfect.

We found Sailing Directions’ very detailed website helpful in deciding which boat and where to go.

Ladson B, aboard Catamaran Sea Chateau, April 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Our time aboard Steppin Up with Bill and Michelle was perfect! We’ve sailed on crewed charter at least a dozen times, all over the Caribbean, and this was undoubtedly our best crew. They were welcoming, gracious, fun, funny, helpful, professional, everything you could ever ask for in a charter crew.

The food was delicious, the boat clean, well ventilated, temperature perfect, and in good working order.

We were concerned that we might notice a reduction in activity in the Virgin Islands due to hurricane damage however Bill and Michelle took us so many wonderful places that we never missed some of our old standbys. I would sail with them again, no question.

Sailing Directions, John, was also most helpful during the selection process. Thanks for all!

Kriss H, aboard Catamaran Steppin Up, April 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Tyler and Erika were both great. They both showed extensive knowledge and we were always sure we were safe and well cared for. Professionally, they were spot on.

But what really was terrific about both Tyler and Erika was how they personally invested themselves into sharing their local knowledge and other skills to help our family have the best trip possible. Whether it was the cooking, or the scuba training, or the ushering us around the great spots they suggested- they made sure we had a fantastic trip. Perfect.

The boat was great- very clean, and very comfortable. I loved sleeping outside under the stars (with my daughter) a couple nights, and the dinghy made getting out and about an easy experience.

The food was fantastic, it was expertly prepared and a lot of obvious thought put into matching our tastes.

We loved the (active) itinerary that we enjoyed, and the destinations were special and fun. Tyler and Erika obviously listened to what we thought made sense, and then made sure our stops fit in the most entertainment possible.

David Y, aboard Catamaran Free Ingwe, April 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Dan & Alli were exceptional! We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of this vacation. We could not ask for a better crew.

Kelea was so spacious and clean at all times. If you could clone Alli and Dan every charter would be filled at all times. They are truly a gem!

The food was Spectacular! Alli is so talented. Every meal was well presented. We were treated like Kings and Queens! I want to take Alli home.

Dan was so knowledgeable about every area we travelled and gave us a lot of history about each island we visited.

No improvements needed at all! It was a trip of a lifetime! We will be back on Kelea soon! I will highly recommend to all friends and family!

Paula J, aboard Catamaran Kelea, April 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

John & Alyse were wonderful! I don’t think either of them sat down, ate or slept while we were on board. They were either busy preparing meals, sailing, taking us out on excursions or cleaning up from the assortment of activities that took place.

The accommodations were very nice - comfortable and clean. it was always a treat to come down after breakfast to a made-up bed and usually to finding our items hung out to dry folded for us on the kitchen table.

The itinerary was great and we got a good amount of time spent sailing and doing land excursions.

Kimberly M, aboard Catamaran Sweetest Thing, April 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Brad and Shana were great, would recommend them. Delphine just came from having work done and you could tell. Very clean and updated! Shana did great with the food! Even the boys ate a ton and they’re picky! She really worked hard at accommodating all. The food was great. Brad went out of his way to show all a good time.

Tony E, aboard Catamaran Delphine, March 2018  sailing the Bahamas

We had a wonderful cruise with Matt and Dana (standing in for Casey). They were incredibly responsive to any request and took us to spots that they somehow knew would delight us. We had some concerns about the boat and the Islands after the hurricanes. John kept us informed all along the way as more information became available about the islands, our boat, and general conditions. We found everywhere to be safe, comfortable, beautiful, and welcoming. Dana did a wonderful job preparing our meals. One in our group has celiac disease and creating gluten free meals was no problem for her. The cabins were very comfortable and clean. There were ample water toys and sports for every ability. It was our first experience chartering and cruising in the BVI's and we can't wait to go again. A 5 star experience!

Margie E, aboard Catamaran Island R&R, March 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Jacek & Maya were one of the highlights of our charter vacation. Extremely friendly, knowledgeable and attentive.

The Loveboat was comfortable. It was clean and well ventilated. The yacht had several water toys and other entertainment equipment all in good and working order which made the boat fun.

The food was very enjoyable and well presented. With options for adults and kids as requested.

Different areas with different experiences made getting to know the USVI and BVI interesting and enjoyable.

Bernardo C, aboard Catamaran Loveboat, March 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

We had an amazing time. Adam and Jen were exceptional - super friendly, attentive, and very accommodating. They made sure my family and I had the best time.

Rubicon was clean and well-ventilated; beds were okay in terms of comfort. We loved hanging out on the back part of the Rubicon and also the front on the trampoline.

For the most part food was delicious. My sons are picky eaters so Jen did a good job of making things for them that they would eat. They really liked the chocolate pancakes and gluten free biscuits.

Our sailing itinerary was perfect! Adam took us around to some of the most beautiful places I've ever seen and made sure the boys were engaged early in the day to keep them busy; he also did a great job of finding good places to go spear-fishing as that was the highlight of the trip for my husband.

We had the best time sailing the Exumas on the Rubicon - the trip exceeded our expectations. We will definitely remember this trip as it has made a lasting impression on my sons - they loved every minute of it! Captain Adam the best - he was great with the kids - couldn't have asked for a better captain!

Kristen L, aboard Catamaran Rubicon, March 2018  sailing the Bahamas

Britta and Joseph were fantastic!! Friendly, professional, very skilled and knowledgeable regarding the boat and the cruising area. The food, as well as the entire experience, was fantastic!

The boat was perfect for our family! We really enjoyed sharing meals on the aft deck. The food was OUTSTANDING!

We loved the BVIs we were totally open to going to any ports that provided quiet, calm waters and nice views. We enjoyed every anchorage!

We had a good experience with Sailing Directions. When we were worried about the area after the hurricanes, we appreciated being able to talk to our captain to address our questions and concerns. The website was thorough and helpful. Easy to use.

Our vacation to the BVIs was the best family trip we have ever taken. Being on the yacht allowed us to share every day, every activity and every meal and every sunset together as a family. We especially enjoyed discovery diving together!

Christine M, aboard Catamaran Dianna Rose, March 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Captain Andrew and Michaela were terrific. They made this trip very special. They worked really hard to make everything work, always with a smile on their faces. Michaela cooked 3 excellent meals everyday - a lot of work! And they were always paying attention to the smallest of details. I can't stress how happy we were with them. I hope our paths cross again.

Flip Flop was in good condition, clean, all systems working properly.

Capt. Andrew made sure we hit all the spots we wanted to go, suggested great off-the-beaten-paths and interesting hikes.

With Sailing Directions, communication was easy, handling of documentation effective. We referred a friend.

Cristiano L, aboard Catamaran Flip Flop, March 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

They were fantastic. Jamie loves to sail, and we spent more time actually sailing from location to location than we did on any previous charter. He and Susannah worked well together managing the boat - setting sail, anchoring, etc. Susannah is a good chef - very thoughtful and conscientious about following our preference sheet. From an interpersonal perspective, they were really great. We enjoyed all of our time together – us, and our boys who are close in age to Jamie and Sue. Jamie is super adventurous – he was a good dive guide, took the boys surfing, wakeboarding, etc. He was up for anything! Sue spent more time on the boat, but was also a lot of fun (lots of laughs playing Uno with us at night). We would definitely sail with them again.

All the main cabins were great. I loved that there was a dedicated shower in each room. The master suite was especially spacious. The boat was clean and in perfect condition.

Sue did a great job matching our meals to the preference sheet. It was all tasty and professionally presented. Lots of style and flare!

For the itinerary, we were given options every night and decided based on what we wanted to do and what the conditions were expected to be like.

Sailing Directions make it really easy to find a boat, and your knowledge of the boats/crews helps make a good decision after narrowing down the choices.

Stephen S, aboard Catamaran Island Hoppin, March 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Jack & Jaimey were excellent! They were delightful - looked after our every need and were a joy to be around. Jaimey offered hiking/running suggestions to our son/daughter and Jack amused us with his many tales.

Split Second was very comfortable, clean and the AC was good when required. Fave aspect was the fly bridge.

Food was excellent and always superbly presented. Jaimey satisfied all our needs and always had the hot sauce on the table - as some of us like spicy food! The food was so good, we asked for many of Jaimey’s recipes.

The itinerary was perfect for us and, even though the weather (north swell) wasn’t always kind, we managed to sail to bays we had never visited before.

Always happy with Sailing Directions’ service - can’t think of anything you can improve.

This was our second charter on Split Second and our second visit to the BVIs - we fell in love with the crew and the islands.

Mary W, aboard Catamaran Split Second, March 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Brand, Jayde and Louise were truly the perfect crew for our group. Their level of professional hospitality they provided was unbelievable. This trip exceeded our expectations.

Brand was able to navigate the USVI and BVI taking us to amazing areas based on the weather ( changing winds), our needs and activity desires. He quickly bonded with our 5 boys and was a constant source of entertainment: Scuba, wakeboard, subwing, tubing, fishing,and just doing flips off the boat with the kids. He makes some great drinks as well. Also full of worldly lnowl;edge and always a pleasure to talk with

Jayde- what an amazing chef! how she makes beyond restaurant quality meals in a 6 x 10 kitchen is unbelievable. She adapted to our groups needs and requests. She always had a smile on her face and was simply a pleasure to be around. She is the Seahome "glue" for sure

Louise- she took care of so many things behind the scenes they cant be counted. From keeping our rooms comfortable, to filling in gaps with the kids playing games, snorkeling, and packing snacks for a beach trip, etc AND we cant forget those unbelievable desserts and making sure drinks were always filled.

The crew worked so well together in perfect harmony. Our request list was 100% met, food was amazing, and we had fun from the moment we woke up to the moment we went to bed. Seahome was in immaculate condition and easily accommodated our group of 9. We never felt crowded.

John at Sailing Directions was always available to answer our questions and guided us through the charter process since this was our first time. Great customer service

Brian J, aboard Catamaran Seahome, March 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

We were a group of three couples for 7 nights on the Island R and R Catamaran “Leopard 46” with crew Matt and Casey. They simply delighted us from start to finish with a well-rounded tour of so many delightful bays, beaches, bars and daily activities of hiking, snorkeling and site seeing. Their flexibility and range of options made for a truly wonderful trip. We were always in awe of what was offered in both the British and US Virgin Islands. The onboard hospitality, food and drink was truly 5 star.

Matt and Casey were in touch with us prior to arriving in St Thomas, very helpful with getting us from our hotel to the boat. Met us with open arms at the Dive Bar prior to boarding. A great option to “overnight” with Casey and Matt before we sailed. We all got to know each other, we got to settle in, and it allowed us to get a great early start on the first day. They had great and extensive knowledge of all the sites along the way. They were very helpful in giving us a range of options and choices for things to do, places to visit and sites to see. Extremely helpful and flexible in planning out each and every day.

Island R&R was clean and comfortable. The front bean bags were a great option. The dining area at the back was also one of our favourites for breakfast lunch and dinner. Of course we must give special mention to Darnell the Duck for floating on. Snorkeling equipment in great form. The floating “mat” was also a great place to lolly gag when tied up.

Oh my, the food! Casey and Matt did an extraordinary job. Case did handle the bulk of cuisine but Matt assisted on many occasions. Casey had us totally delighted and the dietary customization made our one “non seafood fan” very happy. Some terrific creations. We’ve asked for recipes.

The itinerary was awesome. It was really great to start off with a quick sail and then a snorkel for us all to get comfortable with the boat, as well as the crew. A special treat was Pizza Py in the first bay we visited before sailing on for a few hours that afternoon.

Great service from Sailing Directions - always straight forward - informative. The website is clean, informative, straight forward.

Ferg D, aboard Catamaran Island R&R, March 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Ryan and Jill were fantastic. Ryan is an excellent captain and Jill is equally good as a chef. They spoiled us. They are also very patient, answered all of our questions and were fun to hang out with.

We enjoyed the owners-version suite which was quite spacious. We really enjoyed sitting on the back part of the boat reading and watching the beautiful scenery as we sailed by.

The food was excellent. Jill’s presentations were beautiful. We experienced a new area to spend the night every day. They were all fun and scenic. Very happy with all aspects of the trip. We are certain that we will do this again one day.

Russ K, aboard Catamaran Better Days, March 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

We had a great time! The boat was amazing! We loved the champagne deck. 5 star gourmet food and presentation. Sarah accommodated all dietary needs.

I was very happy with your service. I’d definitely recommend you!

Jeannie d, aboard Catamaran Altesse, February 2018  sailing the British Virgin Islands

I don't think it would be possible for a crew to be more friendly, knowledgeable, attentive and accommodating.

Flip Flop was indeed comfortable, clean, and well ventilated - Andrew and Michaela cleaned constantly and were quick to respond to any request. I believe that the interaction with the crew may have been everyone's favorite part of the trip.

The food was exceptional, and the menu adjusted to allow for one gluten-free and one fish-free diet. The presentation was as nice as any fine dining restaurant I have been to.

Captain Andrew did a great job. He adjusted the original itinerary to make appropriate allowance for weather and the desire of the group to spend time on beaches.

It was a great experience for all.

Patrick R, aboard Catamaran Flip Flop, February 2018  sailing the British Virgin Islands

The crew was amazing. Very friendly, attentive and accommodating. Amanda too! By the end of the charter, we all considered them friends.

The Lir was comfortable, clean and well ventilated. We all slept very well! Favorite aspect? All the various places to sit and take in the amazing view. Also the fact that it was equipped with snorkel gear, a kayak, water skis, and stand up paddle boards. We used them all!

The food was amazing and we all appreciated that it was healthy too! Vanessa did a great job of taking 8 different likes and preferences and folding them all into a delicious meal.

Martha D, aboard Catamaran Lir, February 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

We had a great trip. Jim and Amanda were fantastic! Jim did an excellent job getting us around the islands in a safe and comfortable manner. He was flexible about our weekly plans and sat with us every morning to plan the day. Amanda was pleasant, professional and amazingly efficient. Their knowledge of the islands was invaluable in helping us plan our week. Additionally, they were just fun to be around. We would sail with them again.

Copper Penny was an excellent craft that has been extremely well maintained and clean. The cabins were comfortable and spacious. Our favorite aspect of the yacht was the fly bridge. We spent a good bit of time up there having cocktails and enjoying the view.

The food was excellent. Well plated, good portions and very tasty. The chef followed what was on our preference sheet.

This is the second time I’ve used Sailing Directions and every aspect of the transaction has been very professional.

Tarek B, aboard Catamaran Copper Penny, February 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

The trip was awesome. Thank you for suggesting a crew that was experienced and knowledgeable of the area as that was important to us. The captain and chef were accommodating to all our needs and wants.

This was my fourth trip to BVI aboard a chartered, crewed catamaran and I can, without hesitation say our chef, Risa was the best. Her presentation and quality of food was fabulous. Everyone agreed she was over the top. We all wanted to bring her home with us.

You did a great job of hooking us up with a great crew and outstanding boat, the Neverland experience was The Best!

Beverly L, aboard Catamaran Neverland, January 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

It couldn't have been better!

The crew were extremely professional, as well as top notch for friendly, knowledgeable, attentive and accommodating. We never lacked for anything, nor attention. Keith showed his master sailing and boatmanship skills and was the perfect host, bartender and grillmaster. AJ seemed to be everywhere - boat crew, chef, dive instructor. Both were extremely friendly, interested in us and interesting to us. Amount of interaction we had was just right.

Pegasus is clean and well organized. Everything had a place, was kept clean and organized. Favorite parts were the flybridge, bean bag chairs forward, and overall spaciousness. Lots of toys, although we didn't use them a lot, they were there if we wanted them.

Food was delicious, varied, very professionally presented and catered to a couple of minor dietary issues. AJ's restaurant background certainly showed through. Quantities were excellent, food was tasty, varied, top quality and met our preferences of being light. Every meal was a treat, including breakfast. Afternoon appetizers were delicious and welcome.

Our itinerary combined snorkeling areas, open water dive certification for my son, sailing, some land excursions, and restaurant and bar excursions. We were busy, well entertained. AJ showed her skill and passion for diving as a dive instructor.

Sailing Directions’ service was great. Website is excellent, one of the main reasons I ended up booking through Sailing Directions.

Doug S, aboard Catamaran Pegasus, January 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

We had a phenomenal trip this week. I cannot say enough good things about marcus and risa. It was very evident that they are the best crew on the water based on their interactions with the locals as well as other crews. More importantly, we thoroughly enjoyed their company and had a hard time saying goodbye to our new friends.

Marcus & Risa were incredibly friendly, knowledgeable, attentive and accommodating. Their knowledge of the islands and the boat ensured that we had an incredible experience. Their personalities were a tremendous fit for our group we left with wonderful new friends. It is clear that all of the locals know and love Marcus & Risa which was evident by how everyone greeted them upon arrival. They are both experts at their craft and are a ton of fun to be around.

Neverland was immaculate and certainly appeared to be one of (if not the) best catamaran we saw during our trip. Our favorite aspects were having cocktails on the upper deck particularly during a late afternoon sail. The rooms were very comfortable and the dining area had plenty of space for us to spread out, relax and have fun. We enjoyed all of the toys on board including the swinging chairs, rafts, paddle boards and wakeboard.

Risa is simply amazing. Every single meal was absolutely delicious and presented creatively and beautifully. Risa customized the menu to our preferences while maintaining her unique style. She seems very passionate about cooking which makes her food all the more enjoyable.

Marcus charted the perfect itinerary that enabled us to enjoy the different islands based on our personality while also factoring in wind/weather to ensure that we had great sailing conditions. If we had to pick a favorite, Anegada was our favorite stop along the way.

John lane was a pleasure to work with. He was patient with us and very helpful as we went back and forth over various boats. Marcus & Risa were the perfect fit for us which really added so much enjoyment to our trip. We have several friends who have been considering the trip but have been a little scared to pull the trigger after seeing the damage caused by the storms. Hopefully, our experience will help more come and enjoy the BVIs.

Scott L, aboard Catamaran Neverland, January 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

We had a fantastic trip. Matt and Casey were awesome and a perfect fit for us.

Ted O, aboard Catamaran Island R&R, January 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Jill and Ryan were FANTASTIC! We have chartered many times and our whole group enjoyed everything they did, couldn't be more accommodating. Great Crew.

We have chartered Lagoon 50s before, Whitehouse is exceptionally well maintained and equipped. Great Boat

Jill got everything we wanted and requested. The food was too good, I gained 10 lbs. Again, The meals were great, they always offered snacks etc.

We had a great trip, perfect New Years at Anegada at a restaurant they suggested. The hurricane damage was not apparent in our trip, the islands are green, the water is blue and all is beautiful.. unless you look for damage.

Sailing Directions and John Lane were extremely professional and very attentive to accommodate us in sorting through the complications the hurricanes presented, Well done!

I like your website the best as far as crewed charter sites go because you post real pictures of boats the you took, not promotional stuff that could be out of date. I would refer you anytime and will use you in the future.

Ray L, aboard Catamaran Better Days, January 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

We had an amazing trip! The crew did a wonderful job. They were very good at meeting everyone's needs and ensuring we enjoyed ourselves. There was a good balance of giving suggestions/recommendations and letting us make decisions of what/when to do various activities. Nikki did great job of taking us on incredible dives and making sure everyone was comfortable. The crew was very friendly, easy to talk with, and a lot of fun to be around.

The Lady J was very comfortable. We loved all aspects of the yacht. It was great that there was plenty of room to spread out and have your own space, but the areas were also all large enough for the entire family to be together without feeling crowded. The cleanliness was beyond excellent.

The food was listed as the favorite part of the trip by many of the family members. It was very impressive how James accommodated everyone's various dietary needs (not an easy task) and food preferences at every meal. Everyone wanted to see if they could pack James up and take him home with them. The table settings and food presentation were also a treat to see at each meal.

The itinerary worked out really well. Flying in and out of St. Thomas was easy and the various anchor locations were absolutely beautiful.

I was very happy with Sailing Directions' service. John was very attentive and a great help with answering our questions along the way, especially since this was our first charter experience. I would highly recommend Sailing Directions to others interested in doing a charter. The website information, ease of use, and quick response are all reasons why I chose to book through Sailing Directions.

I cannot think of anything that could have made our experience more perfect. For a group of 10 family members with a wide range of ages and interests, the crew did an excellent job. Everyone had such a great time they are all eager to do it again.

Heather H, aboard Power Yacht Lady J, January 2018  sailing the Virgin Islands

Joseph and Britta exceeded our expectations in every way. They are so warm and kind, love the Virgin Islands and know the area well, noticed our tastes in music and food and catered to them. Britta is just magical in all she gets done: first mate, housekeeper, sous chef, dive master, bar tender, server. She is very perceptive to individual needs/preferences of people. She is a lovely person and we all enjoyed getting to know her and her sweet little dog, Zoie. When I woke up and entered the salon each morning, I was immediately greeted with a fresh hot cup of coffee, and the aroma of fresh baked goods. Britta was extremely patient with all the divers in our group, and made sure all learned successfully and had a quality experience SCUBA diving.

Joseph's culinary expertise cannot be overstated! We were blown away with every meal! Delicious and beautifully presented food, expertly prepared, and scrumptious desserts. It was like dining at a 5-star restaurant all week. In a magically beautiful setting. He patiently talked with the foodie wanna-be chefs in our group regarding techniques and his culinary experiences. Joseph made recommendations each evening for the following day's sailing plan based on conditions and the desired activities of the group. Dive sites were good choices for the novice divers and snorkelers.

Our favorite aspect of the yacht was lounging on the bow in bean bag chairs, and laying out on the netting while cruising to our next anchorage. Dining al fresco in the stern area was delightful.

The food was outstanding. Thoughtfully and expertly prepared, beautifully presented. Joseph always accommodated the one non-seafood eater in our group and even helped Steve catch and then prepared a lobster (2!).

A wonderful Caribbean Catamaran Christmas! We were a little nervous as to how the experience would be post-hurricanes Irma and Maria. It's clear there is much rebuilding to be done, more boats to be recovered, and damaged areas to be restored. But the overall beauty of the Virgin Islands is undeniable.

Steve C, aboard Catamaran Dianna Rose, December 2017  sailing the Virgin Islands

How do I even begin to tell you how wonderful our vacation was from the moment we met Luke, Erin, and Cassie on the dock until we left them while all of us hugged and shed a few tears? It was an amazing adventure for each of us.

The crew were the perfect crew for us, including their recent addition Cassie. They accommodated each of us, from the very active 7 year old to the 74 year old with knee problems requiring extra help occasionally.

Dreamsong is a beautiful yacht and perfectly suited to our situation. We especially enjoyed the aft deck when we needed to get out of the sun and the flybridge deck when we were on the move. Luke was great to point out sights along the way and where we were in the islands while Erin and Cassie kept our drinks coming.

Erin is an excellent chef and prepared delicious meals, appetizers, and desserts for us. Of course it was beautifully presented as well.

Captain Luke helped tailor our itinerary to include quiet coves, which we loved, and extraordinary places we had not seen on previous trips to the area. We were anchored in a way that allowed for us to see stunning sunrises and sunsets, a favorite of our group. The snorkeling was excellent, and he put us on beaches we could all enjoy together.

Sailing Directions' service was excellent. We were well matched with Dreamsong and always well informed as the process moved along.

We would return to you and Dreamsong with this crew and will recommend Dreamsong to any friends who may consider a yacht vacation in the future.

Bonnie V, aboard Catamaran Dreamsong, December 2017  sailing the Virgin Islands

We had a fantastic time. It was a trip of a lifetime and we are well traveled.

The food was spectacular. Many meals were among the best we have ever enjoyed.

Our favorite aspect of the yacht was the upper deck.

We saw and did everything we had hoped.

Gene B, aboard Catamaran Tobarths, July 2017  sailing the Virgin Islands

> MORE crewed yacht charter reviews